RSS

The slow, relatively recent spread of distinctively southern U.S. foods and beverages into Canada

15 Nov

Canadian Confederate Flag
I’ve noticed something, over the last decade and a half, which I haven’t seen many others comment on, so I’m not sure how many other people have noticed this as a ‘thing’, but it certainly has struck me.

Here in Canada, we’ve long been culturally Americanized in many regards: we consume American entertainment (TV, movies, sports, music), eat American foods (from burgers to hot dogs to pizza to wings, etc.), and so on; no surprises there, most people on either side of the border know this, that Canada and the United States have a lot in common, culturally speaking.

However, many things that have been more traditionally southern regional, especially food and drink, previously have been either highly under-represented up here amongst other American foods and beverages, or unknown; it has generally been more ‘all-American’, non-regional-specific foods / beverages that have been popular here.

I didn’t particularly appreciate this until I lived in the U.S. about a decade and a half ago, in 2000-2001, when I lived for almost a year in upstate New York, which, as far as it is from Dixie, exposed me to a number of things with which I had not hitherto come into contact, and educated me greatly.

We have no Cracker Barrel Country Store restaurants up here – we didn’t back in 2000, and we still don’t, to this day. I first experienced Cracker Barrel in late 2000, just after I had moved to the U.S. It was an eye-opener for me, because in addition to standard American fare of all kinds, there were a lot of distinctively southern items which I’d never had before then, and over the next year I was to try many things like turnip greens, country gravy and chicken-fried steak, grits, but above all, southern barbecue, i.e. barbecued pulled pork. And I loved southern barbecue so much, I began to search out other restaurants that particularly specialized in it, i.e. southern barbecue joints.

Back then, there weren’t any in Canada, as far as I knew. Sure, there were places that specialized in ribs, but nowhere that served barbecue that I knew of. (Up here, to ‘barbecue’ usually means ‘to cook quickly at high temperatures on a grill’, rather than ‘to cook slowly at relatively low temperatures on a slow-cooker’, though that is changing, but I’m getting ahead of myself.) But gradually between my return to Canada in 2001 and about 2009 or so, southern-style barbecue joints started appearing in major cities across Canada; now, one can even find them in smaller towns, here and there. And pulled pork, as a menu item, is now pretty omnipresent in casual dining places across Canada; I’d say that mostly came in through the last five or six years or so; prior to that, not so much.

Pulled pork, served at a RibFest in Belleville, Ontario, a few years ago.

Barbecued pulled pork, served at a RibFest in Belleville, Ontario in 2008.


Beef brisket, too (other than the corned beef variety), wasn’t known up here when I was young, but now, southern barbecue joints up here typically serve it, too, along with barbecued chicken, hush puppies (also unknown up here when I was young), and so on.

A small taste each left of: barbecued chicken, ribs, pulled pork, beef brisket, from a barbecue joint in a small town in rural Ontario.

A small taste each left of chicken, ribs, pulled pork, beef brisket, at a barbecue joint in rural Ontario.


Another thing that wasn’t very common up here, before 2000, was the sweet potato. When I lived Stateside, one could get baked sweet potatoes at Outback Steakhouses and other casual dining places; one could get bags of sweet potato chips here and there in convenience stores; and sweet potato fries, often with a dipping sauce such as red pepper mayo, were available at various restaurants and pubs, often as a side with burgers, etc.

But I had never encountered them up here. Sure, you could sometimes buy them in the grocery, and cook them yourselves, but they weren’t popular enough to be served in restaurants, in any form, nor did I ever encounter sweet potato chips. Now, one can find the chips in groceries here and there, and sweet potato fries are everywhere, as Stateside. (Baked sweet potatoes are still quite rare, though; although we had Outback Steakhouses before, they never carried them on their Canadian menus (unlike Stateside); and now there are only two left in Canada, and the one with a website still doesn’t have it on their menu, from a search I just did. And I’ve never had sweet potato pie up here, only in America.)

Sweet potato fries and spicy mayo, served alongside pork schnitzel, cheddar and apple butter on a bun, from a restaurant in a particularly German AND sweet-potato-growing region of Ontario.

Sweet potato fries and spicy mayo, served alongside pork schnitzel, cheddar and apple butter on a bun, from a restaurant in a particularly German AND sweet-potato-growing region of Ontario.


Some years after I’d returned home from the States, in fact, only about five years ago or so, I first learned about red velvet cake from American online acquaintances; although apparently it was known up here in Canada in the 1940s and 50s, sold at Eaton’s Department Stores, it was long since gone from our national consciousness; I’d certainly never heard of it. Now, though, it’s everywhere here, just as Stateside, in all its variants – red velvet cupcakes, red velvet ice cream, red velvet cheesecake, etc.

Homemade red velvet cake, made by my mom as my birthday cake a half-decade back from a recipe an American friend gave her, but now also commercially available in Canada.

Homemade red velvet cake, made by my mom as my birthday cake a half-decade back from a recipe an American friend gave me; now also commercially available in Canada.


When I came of drinking age, back in the early ’90s, there were only about three brands of bourbon readily available in Canada: basically, Jim Beam, Wild Turkey, and Jack Daniel’s (which technically isn’t a bourbon but rather a Tennessee whiskey, because not made in Kentucky). I was amazed to discover all the different brands of bourbon that exist, when I lived in America, and I was saddened that I wouldn’t be able to readily get my hands on any of them when I returned home to Canada. However, over the last five years or so, gradually, more and more bourbons have become available up here in our liquor stores, and served at bars; still not as many as Stateside, but at least there’s now a decent selection, including top shelf, small batch ones; and more at Christmas time, as liquor stores bring in more variety for the holiday season.

And related to that, are the American rye whiskies, mostly made by the same bourbon makers; they were completely non-existent in Canada when I discovered them for the first time during my year living in the U.S. Again, during the last five years or so, some varieties started becoming available at Christmas time; now, I can often find at least one or two varieties at certain liquor stores here and there, year-round.

There were no Popeye’s Louisiana Chicken and Biscuits, or as now called, Popeye’s Louisiana Kitchen, outlets in Canada when I moved to the U.S.; however, while I was gone, they opened up their first location in downtown Toronto, and they’re now available throughout the Greater Toronto Area. Alas, they don’t serve the crawfish jambalaya up here that I enjoyed down there, but they do serve the red beans and rice, which I love, and of course their spicy fried chicken, biscuits, etc.

(Speaking of fried chicken, something that I only learned about recently, and haven’t tried yet, has finally begun to catch on up here: chicken and waffles, together. I do want to try them, together, sometime; I like them each separately, and I’m sure I’d enjoy them together. (Wikipedia says it’s not clear it’s a strictly southern thing, though they note it’s highly popular in Baltimore, and considered a local-origin dish there.) )

Now, not everything ‘Dixie’ has caught on up here; for instance, I’ve never found up here green bean casserole, or sweet tea (except one canned version of it in some convenience stores; I still haven’t tried it), or New Orleans’ muffuletta sandwiches which I love (though other New Orleans / Cajun / Creole food, like po’ boys, Andouille sausage, jambalaya, etc. are all available here in varying degrees), or turducken (I want to try that; not had the chance to yet). But who knows; it may just be a matter of time, before such things spread up here… Things like turnip greens and grits aren’t very common up here; I could see turnip greens spreading here, but I don’t know about grits; I think you have to be southern to really appreciate them (I certainly don’t). Okra is hard to find, and I’ve never come across Vidalia onions up here, which is too bad, I love them… I hope they spread.

Anyway, I’ve just found it interesting, that there were so many things I discovered during my year in America a almost a decade and a half ago, which, at that point, were rarer or unknown here, which are now at least almost as commonly available, if not equally commonly available, as in the U.S. today.

I’m not sure why that is; why they hadn’t caught on before, but now have. I suppose the North American Free Trade Agreement may have a lot to do with it, at least in terms of business people traversing the border more often, and ideas, tastes spreading, people seeing markets for stuff in Canada (in fact, sweet potatoes are now grown in southern Ontario, which I don’t think used to be, back in the past), and seizing opportunities, but also perhaps more explicitly in the case of new American restaurant chains opening up here, like Popeyes. Also, the Internet probably has had a huge effect, in terms of spreading of ideas, people wanting to try things, introduce new food items to restaurant menus, etc.

I only know this: I’m glad it happened, because I like all these things. 🙂 And I think, if I hadn’t lived in the U.S. in 2000-2001, I might never have noticed this process, over the last decade and a half, because it happened fairly gradually, and it’s surely only because I took note of all these things while down there, that were fresh discoveries for me at the time, that I later took note again, as they gradually caught on, up here.

I hope that the increasing Dixiefication of Canadian cuisine continues, and other stuff that I like spreads up here.

Y’all keep influencing us now, eh?

A banner from a long defunct website, depicting our old Red Ensign flag, and the Confederate flag.

A banner from a long defunct website, depicting the old Canadian Red Ensign flag, and the Confederate battle flag.

 
29 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2013 in America, Canada, culture, on the lighter side

 

29 responses to “The slow, relatively recent spread of distinctively southern U.S. foods and beverages into Canada

  1. dejour

    November 15, 2013 at 1:29 am

    I know someone who had turducken in Guelph for Thanksgiving. A catering company provided it.

     
  2. Will S.

    November 15, 2013 at 3:28 am

    Awesome! I will have to look into this; I want to try it!

    In northern Ontario, I once had partridge-stuffed duck; that’s the only time I’ve ever had more than one kind of poultry stuffed together; it was excellent.

     
  3. Lisette

    November 15, 2013 at 9:51 am

    That meal in the comments looks so lovely!
    I am surprised you had so many southern (USA) dishes in New York.
    Are you happy or sad that American restaurants don’t offer to serve gravy on french fries (regardless of their color)?
    Also – what Canadian delicacies did you miss during your time here?

     
  4. Will S.

    November 15, 2013 at 11:31 am

    It was! I had that at Moose Factory, near Moosonee – near James Bay – at a lodge on the Moose River. As far north as one can go in the eastern part of Ontario. 🙂

    People all over the U.S. love southern food, and yeah, even in the more rural part of the Capitol District (the region I was living in: Albany, NY and area), there was a barbecue joint, which had the best barbecue I’ve ever had, to this day. I’m sure there’d be even better barbecue in the actual South, but doesn’t mean they can’t do a decent enough job at it, elsewhere.

    I did miss gravy and cheese curds on fries, i.e. poutine! I even missed vinegar for French fries, the little plastic sachets we get here at every fast food place for them; they don’t do that down there.

    I missed butter tarts, especially – Americans don’t generally eat them or know what they are; at most, you may find them in old church cookbooks there, but not commercially available in grocery stores and convenience stores, and most Americans have never heard of them. I thought to myself, if I was going to write a book, I’d entitle it something like “No Buttertarts, Ketchup Chips or Vinegar for French Fries: One Canadian’s Experience of America”. 😉

    Oh yeah, that reminds me: no ketchup-flavoured potato chips (though those are available in some parts of the U.S. now); no Smarties (our chocolate Smarties, not their all-sugar Halloween candyish Smarties), no Crispy Crunch candy bars…

    And the quality of American McDonald’s, Burger King, etc. was appalling compared to McDonald’s Canada, Burger King Canada, etc. Burger buns so cheap they were falling apart; lettuce beginning to wilt and oxidize… Believe me, I missed our Canadian branches of American fast food restaurants, because ours use better quality, better condition ingredients – plus vinegar for the fries. 🙂

    Of course, I missed other things besides food, but that’s beyond the scope of this article, not going there. 🙂

     
  5. Lisette

    November 15, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    Ohhhh – I had forgotten about butter tarts. Do many people make them at home, or just buy from the bakery/ grocery store? I only had the store-bought ones; the mini/ 2-bite sized ones were dangerous!

    Also tasty are the ‘All Dressed’ potato chips – I haven’t seen them south of the border.

    Thank goodness you are from eastern Cananda, and weren’t extolling the virtues of the Nanaimo bar – they were strange!

     
  6. Will S.

    November 15, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    No, most Americans don’t know what the heck a butter tart is; I just meant the only possible place you might find it in America is in someone’s home, if they happen to know about it from a cookbook or something. But very few know about them.

    I like Nanaimo bars, too, but I didn’t miss them the same way, for whatever reason; I guess in part because I’m from Ontario.

    Yes, all-dressed chips seem to be a more Canadian thing, too.

    Where in Canada are you from? Lisette est un nom francais, bien sur. Etes-vous Quebecoise, ou Acadienne, ou franco-Ontarienne? 🙂

     
  7. Will S.

    November 15, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    Oh wait, you’re American. What part of the States do you live in?

    As for butter tarts here, people do make them at home, or buy them at stores; there are homemade ones available at stores, and also factory-bakery ones.

     
  8. Will S.

    November 15, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    Sorry, I somehow missed the fact you’re American, till I reread your comments more closely, including the first. 🙂

    How do you have a French name? Are you part-Cajun? Or part-Acadian New Englander?

    I’m going to guess, from your email address which of course I can see, that you’re from one of these states:

    Arkansas
    Kansas
    Missouri
    Oklahoma
    Texas
    Illinois

    Am I right? 🙂

     
  9. Socially Extinct

    November 16, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    A very mouth-watering post! I feel Southern cooking shouldn’t be luxurious or expensive, but unfortunately in much of Los Angeles, it is (unless you go into the hood). I love the greens at Roscoe’s, but it will cost you and arm and a leg (or hock, depending). I’d love to take a trip to the South just for the food. The food is so blatantly fattening, It is a wonderful villain to most American urban diet nannies. I think that’s one reason I love it 🙂

     
  10. Will S.

    November 16, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    I want to visit the South sometime, too! I’m sure they still do their own food better than anyone else, even if outsiders have learned to do decent approximations. 🙂

     
  11. Sanne

    November 16, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    You are a bit of a foodie, aren’t you?:) Considering cakes, in my experience no commercial brand can truly compare with homemade stuff.

     
  12. Will S.

    November 16, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    Oh, maybe a bit. 🙂

    Agreed, no store-bought cake I’ve ever had has been as good as a home-made one.

     
  13. Will S.

    November 16, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    So, today for lunch, I had some chicken, red beans and rice, and a biscuit at Popeye’s, at one of their locations which happens to be just five minutes’ drive away.

    And after I left there, at a nearby charity fundraising bake-sale for victims of the typhoon in the Philippines, I bought a red velvet cupcake.

    As I said, I’m very glad Canada has gotten more ‘Southern’ in its tastes. 🙂

     
  14. Sasha

    November 24, 2013 at 4:14 am

    It’s like that in Australia too. Canberra is lucky enough to have two Southern American restaurants: Smoque and Soulfood Kitchen. Both of them are overall pretty good, although cornbread still eludes them. The ribs and pulled pork are stellar. There’s a mailorder outfit called http://www.usafoods.com.au that caters to expats like me. I occasionally treat myself to some Old Bay seasoning, Frank’s Red Hot Sauce, or cinnamon Jolly Ranchers. 🙂

    Local tastes in other things change too. My (Australian) husband has a very proper, elderly aunt who used to think that iced tea was a grotesque Yankee abomination. Now she drinks it too. LOL.

     
  15. Will S.

    November 24, 2013 at 8:41 am

    Oh good! Glad to hear that in the Deep Deep Deep South, you can still get ‘Southern’ food. 🙂

     
  16. Sasha

    November 24, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    Hey,anything besides Vegemite has to be considered a step up. 😉

     
  17. Will S.

    November 24, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    Ha! No doubt. 🙂

     
  18. Will S.

    November 24, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    BTW, I recently tried chicken and waffles; loved it. The fried chicken pieces I had were boneless, tender, with a crispy batter and a great chicken-gravy; the waffles were fluffy enough but still substantial, and tasty, served with syrup (not real maple syrup, alas, but I’m willing to let that go, given how good everything else was).

    Came with a side of house-made cole slaw.

    Enjoyable, indeed.

     
  19. 123strong

    November 24, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    This article warmed my heart, especially the banner at the end! I live in Texas and love southern food; it’s truly a significant part of southern hospitality. I’d love to try these Canadian foods you mentioned: poutine and butter tart. I’ll have to dig up some recipes for the latter. And you’re absolutely right regarding food quality at fast food restaurants unfortunately :/. There is one notable exception: Whataburger. They’re only in Texas and, I think, Oklahoma bit are the best fast food burgers I’ve ever eaten!

     
  20. Will S.

    November 24, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    Hello, 123strong, welcome to Patriactionary.

    A butter tart is really quite simple: it’s like a pecan pie in tart form, but without the pecans, either with nothing else, or with raisins – the latter is more common.

    Poutine of course is easy: that’s just French fries with cheese curds, and brown chicken gravy poured over top.

    I’ve heard of Whataburger, and good things, just like you say. One day, I’d like to travel down there, and along with many other Texan foods and restaurants, try them, too!

     
  21. Will S.

    November 25, 2013 at 10:23 am

    Oh, and I tried that canned sweet tea. It was alright, but I’m sure freshly-brewed would be way better.

     
  22. Will S.

    August 16, 2015 at 1:13 pm

    BTW, as an aside, regarding butter tarts, variants with pecans have become more common here now, alongside the plain and raisin versions. Perhaps another case of a southern dish – pecan pie – influencing Canadian cuisine now, partially. 🙂

     
  23. Will S.

    August 16, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    (Pecan pie has been here for a while, itself, but it too is more common now than it was a decade and a half ago, I believe.)

     
  24. ray

    August 16, 2015 at 8:13 pm

    One of the RNs on my AF ward, a Captain, went on vacation and let me house-sit her sweet apartment in Albukoo-koo for a week or two. She left a cooked Cornish Game Hen in the fridge.

    Between that and the little mex-cart that sold Superburritos outside my dojo, I was set. The SBs had lean beef strips, potatoes, green chile ‘dime’ slices, soft fresh mex rice, yum refries, touch of sauce, warm chewy tortiallla, and cheese optional. Usually I couldn’t bear to put cheese on that Masterpiece of Gastronomy. Just a roadside stand but as good as a five star restaurant, they had everything but sopapillas. Which I could track down elsewhere.

    The Mex-cart did not, however, sell eclairs, which I forgave as it’s a long swim from New Mex to France.

    Cheers.

     
  25. Will S.

    August 16, 2015 at 9:10 pm

    Wow; you were set! 🙂

    I of course also love Southwestern / Mexican food as much as I love Southern food. 🙂

     
  26. bluecat57

    April 29, 2017 at 8:48 pm

    Any chance this is related to that wonderful socialized medicine that had Canadians visiting Myrtle Beach as medical tourists?

     
    • Will S.

      April 29, 2017 at 9:32 pm

      Better than having millions of citizens unable to afford health care, at all.

       

Leave a comment