RSS

If you’re wondering what happened to my Twitter feed widget, normally at the right hand side…

15 Dec

… I’ve quit Twitter again.

As with the first time I belonged to Twitter, I’ve come to find it’s been too much of a time suck, and I’d rather spend more time doing other things – I have books I’ve been meaning to read…

As well, though I still enjoyed it overall, the pleasure I got out of tweeting diminished somewhat sharply in recent times, as I found myself increasingly on the defensive for my Protestant beliefs, from a certain group of individuals who blame Protestantism for all the ills of modernity, and who also wanted to argue with me over doctrinal differences. For instance, they recently accused me of disrespecting Mary because, as a Protestant, I don’t use the title ‘Mother of God’ or ‘God-bearer’ (‘Theotokos’), whereas, while highly respecting Mary, I simply have different beliefs than them about Mary in some key areas, something they could not grasp, and so I and my fellow Protestants were accused of being ‘Nestorian’, despite the fact that such is not the case, at all.

Unlike at Patriactionary, where we don’t let our theological differences come between us, these hyper-partisan types have been driving Protestants away by their blaming everything on Protestantism, and their constant bashing of Protestantism. I can name three fellow Reformed reactionaries who used to participate regularly on Twitter, one of whom has fully quit, and the other two participate now only highly infrequently, because of disgust at the constant Protestant-bashing from some highly vocal folks. And, alas, while such folks aren’t representative of all reactionaries, by any means; they are loud, and draw attention – and don’t get called out.

Ah well, whatever. Thank goodness that whatever our respective theological differences, Protestants, Roman Catholics, and Eastern Orthodox both here at this blog as writers, and amongst our friends and regular commenters of both traditions, all seem to get along fine. I hope and pray that will continue – and I hope and pray that Twitter reactionaries might eventually learn a thing or two from how we do things around here.

Anyway, I might, as last time, share some tweets from my archive which I may not wish to end up forever ‘lost’, so to speak, since deleting my account, but if I elect to do so, that’ll be another, entirely separate post. 🙂

 
16 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “If you’re wondering what happened to my Twitter feed widget, normally at the right hand side…

  1. infowarrior1

    December 15, 2013 at 4:08 am

    Close the ranks on what we agree one. And fight like wild beasts on other issues.

    ” ‘Mother of God’ or ‘God-bearer’ (‘Theotokos’), whereas, while highly respecting Mary”

    Facepalm* Personally I respect Moses and Elijah more. Biblically I don’t see Mary doing as much as they attribute to her. I wished they stop.

     
  2. Caelan McKenzie

    December 15, 2013 at 4:25 am

    Twitter is a terrible medium for any sort of serious discussion:, it’s the textual equivalent of soundbites. The format effectively encourages people to be attention whores; “discussions” boil down to a series of zingers. I cannot think of a worse way to talk theology.

     
  3. electricangel

    December 15, 2013 at 9:35 am

    scenes from the life of little Billy S, age 6:
    “You’re a Nestorian!”
    “Oh, yeah, well your mother (of God) sinned!”
    “Waah! you Protestants broke up Christendom for material profits.”
    “Filioque.”

    Better off off it.

     
  4. Lena S.

    December 15, 2013 at 9:37 am

    The only thing I really find Twitter useful for is news headlines. You can’t have a proper discussion there. Combox theology is bad enough! You just end up with the narcissism of small differences.

     
  5. Will S.

    December 15, 2013 at 10:28 am

    @ infowarrior1: Re: Mary: Since it was not my intent to get into a discussion on such subjects here, let me make just one statement, and then I’m done discussing it – and let’s let the matter rest.

    What did Mary do? She bore and gave birth to our Lord and Saviour – and God chose her to do so.

    That alone makes her highly important, and worthy of being held in high regard, by all Christians.

    I am done discussing this; I do not want start us off on any debates here, lol.

    @ Caelan McKenzie and Lena S.: Spot on.

    @ electricangel: LOL! 🙂 Indeed, I am better off, off of it, for now at least, I think; and if I ever do go back at some point, I will be much more selective of whom I follow, and won’t get drawn into pointless debates.

     
  6. Will S.

    December 15, 2013 at 10:49 am

    @ inforwarrior1: “Close the ranks on what we agree one. And fight like wild beasts on other issues.”

    I’m more in favour of doing the first in particular; I see no need for the latter at sites like this one, or amongst reactionaries in general; at our own respective decidedly Protestant, Roman Catholic, and Eastern Orthodox sites, we can politely articulate our reasons for holding to our respective theologies, and engage in some friendly banter perhaps with other over such. But I see no reason for doing such here, this being a pan-Christian-traditionalist site.

     
  7. infowarrior1

    December 16, 2013 at 1:49 am

    @Will S.

    How did that scenario on twitter happen? As a rule I rather not engage in ad hominem. Which just demonstrates the weakness of the particular position that is being argued for.

    There are plenty of sites dedicated to this clash of worldviews. And I see just plain stupidity on all sides.

     
  8. infowarrior1

    December 16, 2013 at 1:53 am

    @Will S.

    I do think though that this conflict may be inevitable after all. The establishment of the kingdom of god involves a fair bit of spiritual violence.

     
  9. Will S.

    December 16, 2013 at 9:47 am

    infowarrior1, I’m not getting into specific details; and truth be told, I don’t remember exactly how it came up, anyway.

    It either indicates a weakness, or it indicates a lack of faith on the part of the particular person arguing in such a manner, regardless of the validity of the position itself. Or it could be pure and simple prejudice against others of other traditions.

    Indeed, there is always stupidity on all sides – we’re talking about humans, after all, and most people are idiots. 🙂

    The Kingdom of God is being established by God; as part of that, He does use His people in the process. His people, the called-out ones, or ekklesia (or as we say in English, church), are surely drawn not just from one tradition, but no doubt include people from more than one. No doubt there are spiritual battles with temporal aspects, as part of that.

     

Leave a comment