RSS

Why not equip all vehicles with back-up alarms?

19 Sep

In parking lots, while walking behind vehicles back to my own, I have almost been struck by some whose drivers couldn’t see me till they were just starting to back up, as I was reaching the back end of their vehicles. I have also been in the same situation as a driver, with someone walking behind my car just as I’m starting to back up.

Thinking about this, I wonder, why shouldn’t all vehicles, not just large vehicles such as tractor-trailers and heavy machinery, come with back-up alarms? I’m sure it would save a few lives, and drivers’ licences.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Why not equip all vehicles with back-up alarms?

  1. feeriker

    September 19, 2017 at 4:09 pm

    Backup alarms are safe, low-cost, simple, and provably beneficial additions to a car’s standard features. That’s why government will NEVER make them mandatory.

     
  2. Hose_B

    October 3, 2017 at 8:34 am

    Ever been on a construction site?? EVERYTHING beeps. Loudly. Make every car in the parking lot beep would just cause humans to tune out the beeping. I understand the logic……..just don’t think it’ll work.
    Do you remember the buzzers cars used to have…….they buzzed annoyingly to tell you you forgot your door open, then it was wired to the seatbelt……mine got torn out of every vehicle I could acces it…..
    Why not make a sidewalk between the rows of cars so no one has to walk in the road behind them? Oh wait…….an extra 3′ per row would cost Walmart too much money and result in less parking spaces in the lot.

     
    • Will S.

      October 3, 2017 at 12:46 pm

      I hear what you’re saying, and that could certainly be an issue in a parking lot with much traffic, like a mall or supermarket lot. But at a lot at an office workplace, where people only come out to their cars when they arrive and leave, and maybe lunch, that would be less of a factor…

      I do know that everyone ignores car alarms, because they get set off so easily, nobody blinks when one goes off any more…

       

Leave a Reply

