RSS

Reassurance to husbands, reassurance to wives.

11 May

Ah, the churchian double-standard, once again…

Mother’s Day is this Sunday. If your church praises mothers on Mother’s Day, but blasts fathers on Father’s Day, time to find a new church: one that honours the Lord; one following the Holy Ghost, not the zeitgeist…

Dalrock

Reader YS shared a video advertising the FamilyLife Weekend To Remember “marriage getaway”.  The video starts with reassurance to husbands, who instinctively know what these kinds of events are like:

The look on your face says it all.  Your spouse just invited you to the FamilyLife Weekend To Remember marriage getaway.  You’re thinking:

What did I do wrong?

Relax, this is a good thing.  So put away the fancy china and listen up.  You aren’t eating crow tonight!

I’ve never been to one of these events, but Sheila Gregoire is one of the “experts” the video mentions, and she describes what they are like on her own blog:

My husband and I speak at FamilyLife marriage conferences around the country…

One of the interesting things about giving the wife talk is that, as I start to talk about what a woman can do to make marriage great, I see…

View original post 81 more words

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “Reassurance to husbands, reassurance to wives.

  1. Take The Red Pill

    May 13, 2017 at 2:30 pm

    Some days, I think that remaining single and never fathering children was UNDOUBTEDLY the wisest decision of my life. And the older that I become, the more that I’m convinced of it.
    But the most ironic and funniest thing is, that it was principally the girls and women that I grew up with (who also rejected me when I was young), who were THE ones who thereby (albeit unintentionally) taught me the wisdom of remaining single and childless.
    One thing that my father (Bless him) was constantly telling me was “WATCH and OBSERVE!” — so I did; and I learned a LOT.

     
    • Will S.

      May 13, 2017 at 2:33 pm

      Yes, I don’t regret still being single, myself, though I’m open to the possibility if I were to meet the right woman. Hasn’t happened yet, and I’m not getting any younger.

      Your father was wise, indeed.

      I, too, have long observed, and learned from what I’ve witnessed.

       
  2. infowarrior1

    May 13, 2017 at 9:40 pm

    At this point they have exposed themselves as heretics having imbibed the spirit of this age of modernity especially its egalitarianism.

    And turn away from the plain teaching of scripture with lies through heretical translations like NIV 2011 and through obfuscation of the meanings of the greek text often lying to prove their point and deceiving many.

     
    • Will S.

      May 13, 2017 at 9:41 pm

      Yep.

       
    • oogenhand

      May 15, 2017 at 9:03 am

      Why trust ANY translations? I have covered the walls of my home with Hebrew.

       

Leave a Reply

