RSS

Dying author pens heartbreaking dating profile for husband

05 Mar

At the original NYT piece, others testified to similarly generous and thoughtful women in their lives:

While one can read the more specific recommendations (“you should marry x”) as being a bit controlling, I nevertheless see them as well-meaning, and intent upon their husband’s future happiness after they pass on. Which is a good thing. We men should all be so blessed to find wives like these! And women should see such wives as role models, in their selflessness, devotion and dedication to their husbands.

Will S.' Sunny Side Blog

How sweet!

An author fighting ovarian cancer who may not have long to live has offered up her husband in a tear-jerking essay: “If you’re looking for a dreamy, let’s-go-for-it travel companion, Jason is your man.”

[…]

“He is a sharp dresser,” Rosenthal wrote. “Our young adult sons, Justin and Miles, often borrow his clothes. Those who know him – or just happen to glance down at the gap between his dress slacks and dress shoes – know that he has a flair for fabulous socks. He is fit and enjoys keeping in shape.”

[…]

“I have never been on Tinder, Bumble or eHarmony, but I’m going to create a general profile for Jason right here, based on my experience of coexisting in the same house with him for, like, 9,490 days,” she wrote.

Her husband is a lawyer and excellent cook who paints in his spare time, she wrote…

View original post 15 more words

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2017 in good news

 

5 responses to “Dying author pens heartbreaking dating profile for husband

  1. feeriker

    March 5, 2017 at 8:01 pm

    Wow. Touching indeed!

    Like “Paul Storfer,” I don’t think I could bear the thought of my current intended looking for a replacement for herself if she was terminally ill. With all we’ve been through together (and separately, for each other’s sake), I would truly rather live out the rest of my days with her memory and spirit fresh inside of me than have someone else as her successor whom I would only be constantly comparing to her. Funny thing is, my intended is exactly the kind of woman who, like those mentioned here, would want me to be happy in the arms of another after she was gone. Trouble is, she’s one of those “unicorns” who wouldn’t be easy to replace even if I were so inclined.

     
    • Will S.

      March 5, 2017 at 8:25 pm

      I hear ya. My mom says she can’t imagine falling in love again if my dad passes before her, and she’d rather live out the remainder of her days alone, with her memories. I get that.

      I certainly hope you and yours don’t have to face such a scenario any time soon! 🙂

       
    • infowarrior1

      March 6, 2017 at 12:32 am

      Congrats on your marriage.

       

Leave a Reply

