RSS

Single American women: buy this diamond ring for yourself to remind you to be even more narcissistic

13 Aug

Like they need more encouragement

These “anti-engagement rings” are a special reminder for single or taken women to take time to focus on themselves. Creator Melody Godfred recommends scheduling time for self-love every week, whether that’s a morning walk, solo brunch or afternoon blowout.

[…]

The rings are packed with powerful symbolism, too. In the Victorian era, wearing a pinky ring indicated you weren’t interested in marriage (self love, 1800s style) and the inverted triangle shape is an ancient symbol of divine femininity.

If you ever see a woman with a diamond pinky ring, you will know exactly what kind of woman she is.

 

19 responses to “Single American women: buy this diamond ring for yourself to remind you to be even more narcissistic

  1. dave1941

    August 13, 2016 at 12:22 pm

    The diamond engagement ring was invented around 1920 by the DeBeers cartel to create a market for rich diamond deposits recently discovered in Africa. Now they’ve found another way to profit from female narcissism!

    Only female-centric societies have big weddings with lots of ritual and expense. In real patriarchies, marriage is a simple deal between the father and the husband, sealed with a handshake.

     
  2. tuna safe dolphin

    August 13, 2016 at 4:31 pm

    mobsters wear pinky rings…

     
    • Will S.

      August 13, 2016 at 5:12 pm

      Oh yeah! So, there we are…

       
  3. feeriker

    August 14, 2016 at 4:41 pm

    It says something (very unflattering) about American men that any of these narcissistic twats continue to get any positive male attention at all.

    Double bonus points to the observer who spots one of these marks of beast on the pinky of a churchianette on Sunday morning.

     
    • Will S.

      August 14, 2016 at 5:46 pm

      Well, the alternative (assuming one hasn’t managed / doesn’t manage to snare a good one) is being alone; some of us can hack that, but others can’t, alas.

       
      • Will S.

        August 14, 2016 at 5:47 pm

        I’m single, and would rather be alone than with one of those; but not all are like me…

         
      • feeriker

        August 14, 2016 at 7:37 pm

        There are plenty of (much tastier and healthier) fish in the sea outside of American territorial waters. 🙂

         
      • Will S.

        August 14, 2016 at 7:44 pm

        One possible solution, that. 🙂

         
      • infowarrior1

        August 15, 2016 at 9:01 am

        Eastern Europeans 😉 ?

         
      • Will S.

        August 15, 2016 at 9:02 am

        Or East Asians. 🙂

         
  4. feeriker

    August 15, 2016 at 11:43 am

    infowarrior1 on August 15, 2016 at 9:01 am

    Eastern Europeans😉 ?
    Will S. on August 15, 2016 at 9:02 am

    Or East Asians.:)

    Latin America too. My tasty, nutritious fish hails from those fertile waters. 🙂

     
  5. bluebird of bitterness

    August 18, 2016 at 5:20 pm

    When I got engaged 40 years ago, my fiancé and I were dirt poor, and although he wanted to buy me a diamond ring (because that’s what guys are “supposed” to do), I wouldn’t let him. It would have meant liquidating what little savings he had, and possibly incurring debt as well, which seemed foolish to me. Instead we bought simple gold wedding bands, which we’ve worn for 39 years now, so I guess they did the job. 🙂

     
    • Will S.

      August 19, 2016 at 2:43 am

       
      • bluebird of bitterness

        August 19, 2016 at 10:39 am

        No kidding. The only diamond I own is the one in my mother’s engagement ring, which she wore for 45 years but which my father gave to me after her death. (At the time I thought it was odd that he didn’t give it to my sister, who was the elder daughter and who was named for our mother; I’m guessing he gave it to me instead because my sister already had a diamond ring and I did not.) I keep the ring for sentimental reasons, but I have never worn it. The band is yellow gold, and my wedding band is white gold, so they would clash… and besides, I’m not really the diamond type. I’m more of an amethyst kind of girl. 🙂

         
      • Will S.

        August 19, 2016 at 10:52 am

        Ooh, I like amethyst, because purple is my favourite colour. 🙂

        I never thought about white gold and yellow gold clashing, but I suppose that is a consideration to keep in mind, esp. if ever I want to buy a gold ring for a special someone… (No such woman in my life at present, but it’s possible…)

         

Leave a Reply

