RSS

Today is apparently International Bacon Day

05 Sep

Or so it is said.

bacon

Works for me!

I had some without even knowing that, earlier today.

But now I know it, I’m even happier! 🙂

Here’s to a day that we Christians are free to observe if we wish to, since we have no Scriptural dietary restrictions against pork.

Too bad for those of other faiths, and/or with weaker consciences. 😉

 

Some hae meat

an canna eat,

And some wad eat that want it;

But we hae meat,

and we can eat,

And sae let the Lord be thankit.

 

37 responses to “Today is apparently International Bacon Day

  1. pseudonymous

    September 5, 2015 at 9:33 pm

    I’m going to make sweet love to bacon

     
  2. Will S.

    September 6, 2015 at 12:47 am

    Alrighty, then. 🙂

     
  3. Gerry T. Neal

    September 6, 2015 at 12:54 am

    We ought to have a dietary restriction against improperly prepared bacon. I don’t mean cooked improperly, I mean sliced improperly. These days it seems it is either cut too thin or too thick or is about 9/10ths fat with only a sliver of meat.

     
  4. Will S.

    September 6, 2015 at 1:00 am

    Hear, hear! I’ve found the same things, esp. at fast food places / diners. Groceries, too, though, aren’t immune, esp. with the bad slicing.

     
  5. Eric

    September 6, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    I agree—we should use this as opportunity to protest against bad bacon. The supermarkets sell over-priced bacon-flavored fat that shrinks when your trying to cook it. I remember when I was a kid, it was a strip of meat with some fat on it, and like Gerry says, sliced thicker too. You actually had to chew it then—lol

     
  6. Will S.

    September 6, 2015 at 10:07 pm

    Hear, hear! I hate, hate, hate, when bacon cooks down and shrinks to a tiny fraction of its original size – or isn’t cooked properly, and stays big but fatty. 😦

     
  7. Will S.

    September 6, 2015 at 11:14 pm

    Hey, vegetarians: don’t you miss bacon? Ooh yes, I know you do. That sweet, smoky smell of smoked pork flesh, cured with nitrites. Mmm-mmm!

    Go on; sneak some! I won’t tell. Nobody will know.

    You miss it! You know you do. I know you do. Sometimes, veggie ‘bacon’ bits just don’t cut it, do they?

    Of course not.

    Nothing is like dead animal flesh.

    Absolutely nothing.

    You were given sharp-pointed teeth to inflict cruelty on animals that taste good, so go on and do it; fuck your pussy consciences. You know you want it!

    So have some, today!

    I won’t tell. Honest!

    It’s not a sin; the Bible allows meat-eating.

    Don’t be a pussy. Eat some dead animal flesh today; it’s your God-given right!

    Esp. pork, which is ritually unclean to Jews, but fine for Christians, as the Bible says. (I can show you chapter and verse and book if you don’t know.)

    Pussy.

    Eat meat; don’t be a vegan like them leftist losers!

    You wouldn’t want to have anything in common with them now, would you?

    Unless you’re more of a Messianic Jew than an actual Galatians-following Christian.

     
  8. Will S.

    September 6, 2015 at 11:20 pm

    But you’re not like that, are you?

    Why, if you’ve quit this blog, you’re not even here, are you?

    Meat. Mmm-mmm. What real men eat. (Except for dogs or cats, unless they be heathen non-Western types. But those are crazy non-Westerners, not our people.)

     
  9. Eric

    September 7, 2015 at 12:38 am

    I’ve never tried it, but I’ve been told that bear meat makes even better bacon than pork. I can’t speak for eating dogs, but a Ranger I once knew said that wolf meat is excellent and cooking one in camp keeps other wolves away. As for cats, mountain lion steaks are pretty good.

     
  10. Eric

    September 7, 2015 at 12:40 am

    I think one reason Libtards are so uptight is because their Vegan diets keep them continually constipated.

     
  11. Will S.

    September 7, 2015 at 9:59 am

    Interesting about bears, wolves, cats. I have to confess, personally, I don’t normally like the idea of eating fellow omnivores, usually preferring to eat herbivores. I don’t know why, and I suppose I’m not completely consistent in that (I eat shark, after all), but generally, that’s how I roll.

    I like your libtard theory. 🙂

     
  12. Eric

    September 7, 2015 at 11:07 pm

    It’s got to be miserable being a Prog. No meat, no tobacco, no normal sex, community service as recreation; what a gloomy existence. They actually put worse restrictions on themselves than the penances Christian monks perform. And even worse, the monks are happy because they do it to please God but atheistic Progs can’t even claim that.

     
    • Will S.

      September 7, 2015 at 11:12 pm

      I can’t imagine such an existence.

      I had a friend in university, who unfortunately became a Satanist (of the philosophical rather than actual Satan-worshipping kind). He also quit drinking at the same time. I asked him how the two things were related; he said that since philosophical Satanism’s creed is ‘do what thou wilt’, he was going to take charge of his health, and give up all his vices. I thought, how absurd, but I didn’t tell him; I just asked him if he was going to pour his beer down the sink. He gave it to me, instead.

      G.K. Chesterton had a great poem that I think is appropriate:

      https://patriactionary.wordpress.com/2012/04/14/poetry-interlude-the-song-of-the-strange-ascetic-by-g-k-chesterton/

       
  13. Eric

    September 8, 2015 at 4:55 am

    Out here in the PNW, I’ve occasionally been obligated to go to parties where everyone else is a Prog. A normal person can barely tell the difference between that and a funeral wake. I get away from them as fast as possible. For some reason, I go to McDonald’s afterwards and feel cleansed. LOL

    It’s actually not surprising that the first thing a Satanist would do is give up drinking. I imagine there’s no beer in Hell either, unless it’s the abominable local micro-brews they all drink around here. Noah’s first enterprise after the Deluge was building a winery, Christ’s first miracle was turning water into wine; and even the pagans revered Bacchus as a benefactor of mankind.

     
  14. Eric

    September 8, 2015 at 5:01 am

    I just had another thought: wasn’t Cain a vegetarian? We saw how pleasing offering lentils to God instead of good mutton was…

     
  15. Will S.

    September 8, 2015 at 10:31 am

    Sounds awful!

    Yes; progs in the early 20th century joined with evangelicals to attack drinking.

    Indeed, Cain offered vegetables and grain on his altar, which did very much displease God. And so the good pacifistic vegetarian killed the farmer who slaughtered animals, not humans.

    Today, we see death threats towards a man who killed a lion…

    The more things change…

     
  16. Socially Extinct

    September 8, 2015 at 6:02 pm

    Total dog-whistle and what can I say 😉

     
  17. Eric

    September 8, 2015 at 10:36 pm

    Progs have a long history of this kind of thing:

     
  18. Eric

    September 8, 2015 at 10:40 pm

    And, as we read here recently, Kellogg’s Cereal promotes both Vegetarian diets and fag marriage:

     
  19. Eric

    September 8, 2015 at 10:42 pm

    Looks like the progs don’t like that last link…

     
  20. Will S.

    September 9, 2015 at 3:03 am

    @ SE: Dog-whistle? I’m not sure I follow. I don’t like vegetarianism, and I don’t like most vegetarians. And I like foods that exclude certain groups, because of stupid dietary laws. That’s all. 🙂 A bacon double cheeseburger can’t be enjoyed by devout Muslims, Hindus, Jews, vegetarians, vegans, but can and should be enjoyed by the rest of us. Ditto filet mignon. I like that! 🙂

    @ Eric: Indeed!

    That’s funny; found a copy of it elsewhere:

     
  21. infowarrior1

    September 9, 2015 at 8:24 am

    @Will S.

    ”Yes; progs in the early 20th century joined with evangelicals to attack drinking.”

    Is it just me or evanjellyfish and progs are birds of a feather?

     
  22. Will S.

    September 9, 2015 at 10:55 am

    They totally are, infowarrior1.

    That’s why, in G.K. Chesterton’s novel “The Flying Inn”, he imagined a future where evangelical Methodists, in coalition with Muslims, have gotten the British government to try to ban booze, as a progressive measure.

     
  23. Eric

    September 9, 2015 at 11:43 am

    Thanks for finding the link, it was too good (and true) to pass up. It’s also not widely known, but the Nazi Regime was also strongly anti-tobacco. Most anti-smoking laws and onerous tobacco taxes in the US & Canada today are not that dissimilar to theirs. During the war, the Propaganda Ministry noted that Roosevelt, De Gaulle, Churchill, and Stalin were all smokers and always depicted them using tobacco.

     
  24. Will S.

    September 9, 2015 at 11:46 am

    Indeed. One of the most powerful scenes in movie I saw about Hitler’s death, was the scene, just after Hitler and Eva had committed suicide, their top associates were standing around, disbelieving, not knowing what to do, till one woman pulled out a cigarette in a secret compartment of her make-up container, lit up, then everyone lit up.

    The fires of freedom! 😉

     
  25. Eric

    September 9, 2015 at 11:47 am

    The Progs and Evangelicals also teamed up against male sexuality. A Prog dissident of the 19th Century pointed it out himself:

    http://theantifeminist.com/the-monstrous-regiment-of-womanhood-ernest-belford-bax-on-the-age-of-consent/

     
  26. Will S.

    September 9, 2015 at 11:49 am

    Link doesn’t seem to work, alas.

    But I’m not surprised. Back in the late 19th / early 20th century, progs and evangelicals joined forces in many things, from women’s liberation to alcohol abstinence, and more.

     
  27. infowarrior1

    September 10, 2015 at 5:34 am

    @Eric Will S.

    The bible alluded to the age minimum age of consent:
    http://www.answering-islam.org/Shamoun/marriage_age.htm

     
  28. Eric

    September 11, 2015 at 2:52 am

    Thanks for that link. According to Catholic tradition, Mary was 13 at the time of the Annunciation.

     
  29. Eric

    September 11, 2015 at 3:08 am

    Speaking of tradition, I was thinking too about certain Christians who follow the Messianic Jewish line of thought, and remembered that St. Barnabas, companion of the Apostle Paul had written about this:

    “You should take serious thought for yourselves and not copy certain individuals by exaggerating your own sins and claiming that the Jews’ Covenant is for us as well. The Incarnation of the Son of God was intended to bring to a conclusion the sins of a people who had slain and persecuted His prophets, and for this purpose He allowed Himself to suffer…In these dietary laws, Moses was taking moral maxims and expounding them spiritually, though the Jews, with their carnal instincts, took them literally to refer to foodstuff.”

     
  30. Will S.

    September 11, 2015 at 3:20 am

    IMO, I see no reason why any girl capable of conceiving a child cannot marry.

    Let natural law inform actual law, in such a case, I’d say.

     
  31. Socially Extinct

    September 12, 2015 at 11:52 pm

    D’oh 😦

    @Will S re: dog-whistle. Please excuse the vodka-induced comment. I forgot about this 😦

     
  32. Will S.

    September 12, 2015 at 11:59 pm

    Okay. I know what leftists call a dog-whistle, but whatever.

    This post was inspired by my reading it was international bacon day. That was all.

    That it’s also an attack on vegetarians and others, is because I’m a meat-eating supremacist and a Christian religious / Western cultural chauvinist, unabashedly. 🙂

     
  33. infowarrior1

    September 13, 2015 at 1:10 am

    @Will S.

    ”IMO, I see no reason why any girl capable of conceiving a child cannot marry.

    Let natural law inform actual law, in such a case, I’d say.”

    Only in healthy and normal cases I say.

    There are however abnormal cases of early puberty and menarche. Of which conceiving will endanger the female’s life and cause substantial medical issues.

     
  34. Will S.

    September 13, 2015 at 1:20 am

    Agreed, infowarrior1; I have heard of such, I have a family friend who is a public health nurse, and who has told of pregnant teen girls who have no developed milk glands yet, and remain unable to lactate, much less carry a pregnancy to full term without massive complications.

    And so by ‘capable’ I mean to infer healthily.

     

Leave a Reply

