RSS

The NFL thinks you need telling that domestic violence is bad

31 Jan

So they’re spending money to air a PSA about it during the Superbowl on Sunday.

This, of course, is the same organization that thinks you aren’t sufficiently aware of breast cancer, and so has everything from players to playing fields decked out in hot pink every October.

They think you’re stupid, and either hate or don’t care about women at all, and need indoctrination.

They’re counting on you to not say, “Aw; fuck this! That’s it; I’m done!”, and do something else with your time and money, from now on.

So don’t let them down; keep watching, and buying the products advertised during the commercial breaks!

Or, you could liberate yourself from their bullshit, completely.

Your call.

 

39 responses to “The NFL thinks you need telling that domestic violence is bad

  1. Sanne

    January 31, 2015 at 3:13 am

    Women, women, women, women, can Americans think of anything else? I sometimes think it’s the most gynocentric country in the world.

     
  2. Eric

    January 31, 2015 at 4:42 am

     
  3. Eric

    January 31, 2015 at 4:46 am

    Sanne:
    The ironic thing is that American women are the ones in the world least deserving of much thought. Maybe that’s part of the American obsession with them, everybody keeps hoping that, with more attention, they’ll improve.

     
  4. Carnivore

    January 31, 2015 at 7:29 am

    Unfortunately, the stupid ones don’t read this blog.

     
  5. Will S.

    January 31, 2015 at 8:27 am

    @ Sanne: Yes, it is. Even de Tocqueville, way back then, marvelled at the position of women, nay, the centrality of women, in America.

    @ Eric: Ugh…

    @ Carnivore: Alas…

     
  6. cecilhenry

    January 31, 2015 at 11:11 am

    I think I;LL skip the Superbowl.

    Never a good game anyways. And yes, fed up with this parasitic, manipulative BS

     
  7. CA3

    January 31, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    I suppose it’s a good thing I don’t follow sports at all, then.

     
  8. Wilson Mount

    January 31, 2015 at 4:24 pm

    Do you guys have White Ribbon Day over in the States? Essentially it is a way of getting men to swear, to state to the world, they will not beat the wimminz.. Whilst paying the tax of the nifty white ribbon ya get to wear for the day of course.

     
  9. Will S.

    January 31, 2015 at 9:04 pm

    @ CH: Indeed.

    @ CA3: I don’t, either.

    @ WM: I’m Canadian; I certainly know what White Ribbon Day is. Are you Canadian, too?

     
  10. Will S.

    January 31, 2015 at 9:04 pm

    @ WM: Or are you Aussie or Kiwi, who also have White Ribbon day I believe, but IIRC on a different day from us Canucks.

     
  11. Patrick Button

    January 31, 2015 at 11:39 pm

    PSAs are the only reason I don’t smoke crack, beat women, and drive drunk.

     
  12. Brian K

    January 31, 2015 at 11:41 pm

    I finally tuned out the NFL this year. Between Bob Costas using his bully pulpit to attack 2nd Amendment rights (imagine the uproar if a conservative analyst used the halftime show to attack abortion or sodomite marriage), pinktober, the Redskins’ manufactured controversy, the all men are evil domestic violence PSAs, and the pedestalization of Michael Sam as the Jackie Robinson of sodomy, I just couldn’t take it anymore. The UFC is trying very hard to drive me away too. Boxing still seems safe for us masculine troglodytes.

    On an unrelated note, I got baptized in the icy Atlantic today. Ignoring the Stuporbowl seems like a good way to practice being in the world but not of the world.

     
  13. Wilson Mount

    January 31, 2015 at 11:44 pm

    @Will S: Aussie… Some time in November I believe. I remover it specifically from the last time (from memory) because of this – https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2HGmjJEGE1c

     
  14. Eric

    February 1, 2015 at 12:04 am

    Unfortunately, living where I do, I’m not going to be able to ignore it. Last year the Super Bowl caused 4 days of rioting here. I can’t wait to see what will happen this year LOL

     
  15. Carnivore

    February 1, 2015 at 6:58 am

    No, in the USA there is no concept of a white ribbon – at least not that I’m aware of. Could be I’m too tuned out already.

    NFL tickets are going for $10K on the secondary market and manipulators are shorting the market (selling tickets they don’t yet have).
    http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2015-01-31/black-swan-super-bowls-ticket-prices-are-being-manipulated-extreme

     
  16. Will S.

    February 1, 2015 at 7:15 am

    @ Baptised in the North Atlantic? Awesome!

    Yeah, all good reasons to ignore the NFL. Hear, hear!

    @ WM: Ah. Our White Ribbon Day is December 6; it’s the anniversary of the Montreal Massacre in 1989 when a crazy half-Algerian asshole murdered 14 women studying engineering at a Montreal school. He hated women, blamed them for all his problems, and in turn, the feminists have declared that he is representative of all men, and of ‘systemic misogyny’, so every year, a bunch of dykes light candles and ‘take back the night’, and castrate-wannabe male feminists wear white ribbons to apologize. Nobody mentions that he was raised by a single mother, yet inherited his Muslim father’s misogyny; nobody likes to call attention to those things. No, instead, he’s used to bash ordinary Canadian men.

    @ Eric: Yikes!

    @ Carnivore: I hope it doesn’t catch on there! It’s annoying encountering it here every year…

     
  17. Brian K

    February 1, 2015 at 10:04 am

    Will: The “icy” part was an exaggeration. The baptism was held in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. The water was very cold by our standards, after a week of temps dipping into the 40’s, but there was no actual ice. It was awesome, though.

     
  18. Will S.

    February 1, 2015 at 3:10 pm

    Ah.

    My own tradition is paedobaptist, not credobaptist (except for new believers), but I’ve thought if I were to be baptized again, and not in a font in a church, I’d either want to be baptized in a cold river, or in the ocean, esp. the cold north Atlantic.

     
  19. Brian K

    February 1, 2015 at 4:52 pm

    Will: We’re a credobaptist church, but I was raised in “the tribe”, so I qualify as a new believer anyway. A North Atlantic baptism would surely be a powerful experience. For a native Floridian, being baptized during our coldest week of what we call winter was powerful enough. The North Atlantic is another animal entirely.

     
  20. Will S.

    February 1, 2015 at 4:58 pm

    I’ve never lived near the ocean, but I have visited oceans on several occasions, and more the North Atlantic than any others (I’ve also visited the North Pacific, and the Arctic). I’ve always been struck by how cold it is, even in summer. I find it bracing. 🙂

     
  21. Brian K

    February 1, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    Will: Down here, we normally worry more about bull sharks than hypothermia. Still, the water was cold enough that I didn’t see any surfers or swimmers, which is rare for a Saturday morning in South Florida. Everyone in the ocean was there in service to God. The arctic must be wild. I’ve never been anywhere where the bears are white.

    Sorry for the thread drift. I’m just psyched about my baptism, and your blog seems a friendly place to share such things.

     
  22. Will S.

    February 1, 2015 at 6:52 pm

    Hey, no worries; we enjoy fun tangents here, as long as they’re not people pointlessly arguing about crap. 🙂

     
  23. Will S.

    February 1, 2015 at 6:54 pm

    I haven’t seen a polar bear in the wild, and I’m not bothered by that, in the least. 🙂

    But yes, I’ve been in the Arctic, in summertime; I have been in the sub-Arctic in winter; I once spent a whole winter in the oilpatch in the sub-Arctic; it was interesting.

     
  24. Brian K

    February 1, 2015 at 8:34 pm

    Polar bears are no joke. Animals that specialize in hunting large mammals are best avoided by medium sized mammals.

    I suspect an entire winter in a sub-arctic oil patch would be quite interesting. The coldest place I’ve spent an entire winter is Gainesville, FL, where it very rarely dipped below 30, and normally stayed above 40. I don’t really have any desire to experience anything colder for more than a few days. I’ll stick with my sunny, gator-infested, home state, thank you very much.

     
  25. Will S.

    February 1, 2015 at 9:08 pm

    Wow.

    I’ve been to my mom’s country, in the Caribbean, and gone swimming in the sea on days the locals were staying out of it, days when it was raining, with a slight breeze; the locals asked me, “You crazy, man? It cold like hell!”. Then I told them it was not, and that it was warm to me, because I’m Canadian. “Ohhh…” 🙂

     
  26. Brian K

    February 1, 2015 at 9:30 pm

    I’m tough in other ways (19 years of martial arts training under my belt), but when it comes to temperature, I’m a bit of a wimp. I’ve seen snow, but only as a tourist. I’ll leave the weather warrior stuff to you brave denizens of the Canadian tundra.

    Of course, I did make it through hurricanes Andrew, Wilma, and Katrina, among others. We’ve all got our meteorological crosses to bear, I suppose.

     
  27. Will S.

    February 1, 2015 at 9:51 pm

    Ha! I’m no weather warrior; just forced to be used to it, since I live here. 🙂

    And I’d certainly call you tough; I have no such training in such arts.

    Regarding hurricanes: yikes! I’ve been very fortunate to have grown up in an area which doesn’t ever get hurricanes, earthquakes, tornadoes, etc., even though other areas nearby do. And even though I’ve lived other places, I haven’t had to face any of those. And the only hailstorms I’ve faced had gumball-sized hailstones, not baseball-sized ones like some folks have experienced, destroying windows, damaging vehicles, etc.

    So, I’ll happily take the odd icestorm, blizzard, etc., if that means no hurricanes, earthquakes, up with which to put. 🙂

     
  28. Carnivore

    February 1, 2015 at 10:28 pm

    Cold is easy – one just adds more layers. With heat, when you get down to your birthday suit, there’s nothing else to be done, except for AC. I recall one time being in Tampa in February – in the 90’s with 100% humidity. I wilted. No thanks.

     
  29. Will S.

    February 1, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    Indeed. Not for me, either!

     
  30. Brian K

    February 1, 2015 at 11:08 pm

    Most hurricane seasons are utterly uneventful. There were a few years in the 00’s where we got hit with Wilma, Katrina, and a few tropical storms within a few years, but in my 36 years, I can only recall being seriously inconvenienced by the three storms I mentioned. Katrina was the worst of them, and it didn’t hit Florida nearly as hard as it hit Louisiana. Florida’s infrastructure is designed with the threat of hurricanes in mind, so I only lost power for a few days. My car had a massive tree branch blown on it, and my folks had some roof damage, but it wasn’t that bad.

    Baseball-sized hailstones, on the other hand, sound like the stuff of nightmares. I think I would rather deal with Tremors-style sand worms than pbaseball-sized hailstones. At least Tremors-style sand worms provide a bonding experience for the community. Baseball-sized hailstones are just impersonal death from above.

     
  31. Will S.

    February 1, 2015 at 11:17 pm

    I’m glad I haven’t had to deal with such large hailstones. Unfortunately, some aren’t so lucky, depending on where they live…

     
  32. Brian K

    February 1, 2015 at 11:35 pm

    There but for the grace of God go I, to get pelted with hailstones that could cave in my skull. All this talk of extreme Canadian weather reminds me of the Ren and Stimpy “Canadian Kilted Yaksmen” episode. Well worth googling up if you haven’t seen it.

     
    • Will S.

      February 1, 2015 at 11:58 pm

      Oh yes; I’ve seen it. 🙂

       
  33. Carnivore

    February 2, 2015 at 3:32 am

    Have you seen or heard of this?

     
  34. Will S.

    February 2, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    No; interesting!

     

Leave a Reply

