RSS

Marc Driscoll Taking a Minimum of 6 Weeks Off to Heal

04 Sep

Literate Comments

http://marshill.com/2014/08/24/an-update-from-pastor-mark

Marc requesting a MINIMUM of 6 weeks off to recoup and heal.

A primer on the private, capitalistic sector (which pays the church’s bills) and the church sector:

For the past 22 years I have never had even 2 weeks off since I’ve had to process a payroll every other week that entire time (except for 9 months when I worked in a CPA firm). This includes the birth of 4 kids and one all-night stint in the hospital with one of them when he had to return shortly after birth. I recall having to head into the office in the midst of that fiasco.

During August I worked all 31 days — 70 hour weeks. My first day off — Labor Day. I went to the town where I work on some personal business and my car broke down. I had left my cell at home and my…

View original post 199 more words

 

14 responses to “Marc Driscoll Taking a Minimum of 6 Weeks Off to Heal

  1. Sanne

    September 4, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    Is there some scandal going on about Driscoll? It’s the first time I heard of it, I hope he wasn’t following in the footsteps of Doug Phillips…

     
  2. Will S.

    September 4, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    Yes; nothing like what Doug Phillips is accused of, though, far as I know:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/08/24/mark-driscoll-mars-hill-_n_5705713.html

     
  3. Sanne

    September 4, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    Thanks for the link, my friend thinks that Doug was framed, btw.

     
  4. Will S.

    September 4, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    You’re welcome.

    Thing is, Doug Phillips did admit to inappropriate activity, without spelling out what.

    So, I don’t think he was framed.

     
  5. Sanne

    September 4, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    Doug had a lot of enemies, she seems to think that they used his weakness to draw him in, he certainly wouldn’t be the first man who fell for it.

     
  6. Will S.

    September 4, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    I suppose that’s possible.

    Still, the choices he made were his own.

     
  7. Eric

    September 4, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    Will:
    Interesting question: given the recent stand the Southern Baptists took about early marriage and Driscoll’s infamous manginaism, do you think there’s a subtle uprising going on Protestantism? Maybe a reactionary movement more supportive of men?

    We can only hope, but it does seem strange that these two things happened about the same time.

     
  8. Will S.

    September 4, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    Eric, I’d like to think so. But instead, I fear that deti is right, that evangelicals are basically just paying lip service to traditional Christian ideals and practices, while maintaining their churchianity.

     
  9. feeriker

    September 4, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    Instead of 6 weeks off, how about putting on grubby clothes and doing janitorial and yard work on Mars Hill property for 6 weeks? Lots of time to think.

    A churchian corporateer doing an honest day’s work? Surely the author jesteth. If Driscoll and his ilk were capable of doing honest, productive work, they would have gone into professions that demands such (cops and public school indoctrinators fall into this same category).

    Prediction: Marc Driscoll is just arrogant enough to try to claw his way back into the limelight. Apparently he’s never heard the name “Jimmy Swaggart,” and so has no idea how badly his comeback attempt will end.

     
    • Will S.

      September 4, 2014 at 11:08 pm

      It will be amusing to watch. 🙂

       
  10. infowarrior1

    September 4, 2014 at 11:13 pm

    Will S.

    “Eric, I’d like to think so. But instead, I fear that deti is right, that evangelicals are basically just paying lip service to traditional Christian ideals and practices, while maintaining their churchianity.”

    Persecution is coming. So I guess the churchianity will not last long. Either choose real Christianity or perish.

     
  11. infowarrior1

    September 4, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    Revelation 3:15-16
    15’I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot; I wish that you were cold or hot. 16’So because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of My mouth.

     
  12. Will S.

    September 5, 2014 at 8:15 am

    Exactly, infowarrior1.

     

Leave a Reply

