RSS

Arizona State University offers female Women and Gender Studies students extra credit for not shaving their armpits

09 Jul

Will S.' Random Weirdness Blog

Yeah.

Arizona State University, perennial favorite for “nation’s least prestigious school,” is showing America why: students can now earn extra credit in a Women and Gender Studies class for being female and not shaving their armpits. One student—whose parents no doubt consider this either $6,000 (in-state tuition) or $10,000 (if she’s out of state) a year well spent—called her 10 weeks of stubble cultivation a “life-changing experience.”

Men are also allowed to receive extra credit, as long as they shave their bodies from the neck down.

View original post

 

19 responses to “Arizona State University offers female Women and Gender Studies students extra credit for not shaving their armpits

  1. Peter Blood

    July 9, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    You mean to tell me the knuckle-dragging mouth-breathers in Women’s “Studies” normally shave their armpits?

     
  2. Sanne

    July 9, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    Do they get another one for not taking a shower and refusing to clean their teeth?

     
  3. Will S.

    July 9, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    @ Peter Blood: Apparently in Arizona, bless them.

    @ Sanne: Shhh! Don’t give them any ideas! 😉

     
  4. Eric

    July 9, 2014 at 7:23 pm

    Peter Blood: Damn…I thought I was the only person living who still reads Rafael Sabatini! LOL

    As for Womyn’s Studies, you know the old saying: Sexism—only ugly bitches complain about it!

     
  5. Will S.

    July 9, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    🙂

     
  6. Sanne

    July 10, 2014 at 7:11 am

    I read Sabatini, too!

     
  7. Will S.

    July 10, 2014 at 8:37 am

    I confess my ignorance; never heard of Sabatini till now.

     
  8. Peter Blood

    July 10, 2014 at 10:37 am

    Sabatini was born with a gift of laughter and a sense that the world was mad. Wrote some good yarns.

     
  9. Will S.

    July 10, 2014 at 10:50 am

    I’ll have to look him up, see if I find some of his stuff at the library. Sounds right up my alley. 🙂

     
  10. Sanne

    July 10, 2014 at 11:50 am

    He wrote the famous book about a doctor who became a pirate, Captain Blood, and another one about a guy who was an illegitimate son of an aristocrat during the French Revolution, Scaramouche or something similar. These are actually the only two books of his which I read. –

     
  11. Will S.

    July 10, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    Ah. I assume that’s where Peter Blood got his internet name. 🙂

     
  12. Sanne

    July 10, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    Yes, I think Captain Blood’s first name was Peter:) There is an old movie with Erol Flynn, it used to be available on YouTube.

     
  13. Will S.

    July 10, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    Ah.

     
  14. Peter Blood

    July 10, 2014 at 4:34 pm

    Yes, and I picked the avatar (Errol Flynn) thinking it was from Captain Blood, but it’s not. I think it must be from The Sea Hawk, another Sabatini story.

     
  15. Will S.

    July 10, 2014 at 6:28 pm

    Ahh.

     
  16. Sanne

    July 10, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    Peter, are you a fan of vintage movies? Then you should check movie reviews on my blog, my husband sometimes asks me if I’m aware that movies come in colour these days:)

     
  17. Eric

    July 11, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    Peter Blood:
    Besides ‘Captain Blood’ and ‘The Sea Hawk’ I’ve also read ‘Scaramouche’ and ‘St. Martin’s Summer.’ They made a movie on Scaramouche back in the 50s.

    Sanne:
    I’ll have to check out your blog I’m into vintage movies. Both novels and movies have gone downhill since about 1970…LOL (along with nearly everything else in the culture…)

     
  18. Sanne

    July 12, 2014 at 11:23 am

    Eric, I’ve just done another movie review today, Beau Geste:

    http://athriftyhomemaker.blogspot.nl/2014/07/beau-geste.html

    I agree entertainment went downhill, that’s why I’m trying to promote vintage stuff on my blog.

     

Leave a Reply

