RSS

Musical Interlude: “Gentleman”, by Theory of a Deadman

09 Nov

I heard this song today on the radio for the first time; I was struck by the amusing, very ‘Red Pill’ lyrics.  (Remember: always, always pay attention to what women actually do, not what they say they want…)

I’ll let the door, hit you right in the face
And when the check comes, I’ll make ya pay
Don’t have a car, I guess you’re picking me up
And in the backseat, we’ll be falling in love
My only job is, to lie on this couch
And while you’re working, I’ll be hanging out
Now don’t get mad ’cause, you knew from the start
I was an asshole who would never go far

‘Cause when you’re really good to girls
Give them their entire world
They end up walking away, hey hey
They don’t want a stand up guy
They’d rather have you cheat and lie
And do something they hate

Girls don’t want a gentleman
They say they do but in the end
Girls don’t want a gentleman
They want a loser like me
Girls don’t want a gentleman
If you want to get to them
Girls don’t want a gentleman
They want a loser like me

Your parents cry
When you bring me around
They raised you up
Just so I could take you down
There goes your life
Right before their eyes
I’ll have ya barefoot, pregnant, going out of your mind

‘Cause when you’re really good to girls
Give them their entire world
They end up walking away, hey hey
They don’t want a stand up guy
They’d rather have you cheat and lie
And do something they hate

Girls don’t want a gentleman
They say they do but in the end
Girls don’t want a gentleman
They want a loser like me
Girls don’t want a gentleman
If you want to get to them
Girls don’t want a gentleman
They want a loser like me

I used to be a nice guy
But that don’t get you anywhere
So now I’m just a piece of shit
Idiot who’s too stupid to care

When you give a girl respect
Treat her like she is the best
You’re nothing to her
She’d rather have you playing games
Piss her off and make her wait
If you want to do her

Girls don’t want a gentleman
They say they do but in the end
Girls don’t want a gentleman
They want a loser like me
Girls don’t want a gentleman
If you want to get to them
Girls don’t want a gentleman
They want a loser like me

Girls don’t want a gentleman
They say they do but in the end
Girls don’t want a gentleman
They want a loser like me
Girls don’t want a gentleman
If you want to get to them
Girls don’t want a gentleman

They want a loser like me
They want a loser like me
They want a loser like me

 
13 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2012 in music

 

13 responses to “Musical Interlude: “Gentleman”, by Theory of a Deadman

  1. El Bastardo

    November 9, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    You know I was going to use that song; and I still will.

    It is amazing to hear a song in the mainstream that elaborates the Red Pill philosophy so well does it not?

     
  2. Will S.

    November 9, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    Indeed; it is most surprising – and encouraging!

    I will note that even back in 2008/2009, with their song ‘Hate My Life’, they showed they understood this:

    How come I never get laid
    nice guys always lose.
    How could she have another headache
    There’s always some kind of excuse…

     
  3. Will S.

    November 9, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    It seems that the lead singer’s wife wrote “Hate My Life”, and several other TOAD songs; who knows, maybe she wrote this latest one, too…

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christine_Danielle_Connolly

     
  4. Will S.

    November 10, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Apparently it was co-written with another woman:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Truth_Is…_(Theory_of_a_Deadman_album)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kara_DioGuardi

    Interesting, that… (It explains the lyric using the American ‘check’ instead of the Canadian ‘bill’ for the paper listing the balance owing at a restaurant for a meal; I was surprised at a Canadian band using that Americanism, which is still fairly uncommon up here.)

     
  5. Sis

    November 10, 2012 at 1:05 am

    I hate it, but very sexy.

     
  6. Will S.

    November 10, 2012 at 1:09 am

    Yep! And true. 🙂

     
  7. a tiny little mouse

    November 10, 2012 at 8:35 am

    That was very funny, just what one needs to cheer up after all these doom and gloom election discussions:)

     
  8. Will S.

    November 10, 2012 at 9:19 am

    Oh yeah! 🙂

     
  9. Socially Extinct

    November 10, 2012 at 11:56 am

    Wow, that’s “anthemic!”

     
  10. Will S.

    November 10, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    Indeed. 🙂

     
  11. Will S.

    October 23, 2015 at 9:00 pm

    You know I’ll be the one who gets fallin’ down drunk
    At my neighbor kid’s soccer game
    I’ve got an ’82 Fiero with a car seat in the middle
    Broken down on the Interstate
    I’ve got a beer-stained t-shirt looking like Joe Dirt
    Something ’bout me just ain’t right
    I’m a cash-stealing, drug-dealing loser without any feeling
    Getting trailer trash tonight

    [Chorus:]
    ‘Cause I’m a low life, and I’m loving it
    I’ve got the whole damn world in the palm of my hand
    I’m a low life, so fucking deal with it
    No you can’t change something that you don’t understand

    I’m thrilled to be a hillbilly,
    Hate to have to deal with me
    Probably just end in a fight
    No sleeves, can’t read, doesn’t even phase me
    Naked, sleeping like a baby tonight

    [Chorus]

    Living it up, living it up
    Being a low life
    [X3]
    Living it up, living it up

    A gun-packing, bitch-smacking, mess with me it’s gonna happen
    Loving life living in sin
    Passed out on the floor, sorry just to work no more
    Giving up, on giving in

    Ah fuck it

    ‘Cause I’m a low life, and I’m lovin’ it
    I’m never gonna change as long as I live
    I’m a low life, so fuckin’ deal with it
    ‘Cause deep down I really know everyone is

    ‘Cause we’re low lives, and we’re lovin’ it
    We got the whole damn world in the palm of our hand
    ‘Cause we’re low lives, so fuckin’ deal with it
    No you can’t change something that you don’t understand

    Living it up, living it up
    Being a low life

     

Leave a Reply

