RSS

Warning, men: pedo-hysteria at Virgin Airlines

10 Aug

At least in Australia, Virgin Airlines has a policy of not allowing a man to be seated next to unaccompanied children – but women are allowed to be.

An Australian blogger named Johnny McGirr details his experience at a blog post, here.

The fasten seat belt sign was illuminated and we were clear for takeoff.  Then the stewardess approached me again.

‘Sir we are going have to ask you to move’

‘Why’, I said.

‘Well, because you are male, you can’t be seated next to two unaccompanied minors’.

Shocked, I replied, ‘ Isn’t this sexist and discriminatory?’

She replied, ‘I am sorry, but that is our policy’.

[…]

As I sat in my seat for the 1 hour flight I started to get quite angry at the treatment I had suffered and couldn’t help but feel like I was being held accountable for all the paedophilic scum bags on the planet.

The irony of the situation is that I am a emergency service worker and if the children were in trouble I would be given the responsibility of protecting them. Men are policemen, doctors, social workers, teachers… people who are entrusted to the care of children but according to Virgin once you step on one of their planes you are a pedophile or a potential pedophile.

So being the narc I am I wrote to Virgin complaining of the treatment that I had been subjected to. I had stated in my email that women can also be predators . In response I was quoted their  policy.

“Unaccompanied children will have spare seats allocated next to them when they are flying. In the case of a full plane then a female will be sat next to the children”.

Further to this I was told that they had incidents of children being interfered with  before and they were all men.

So my suspicions were confirmed. Because I am a man I am  presumed to be a predator and because Virgin were chasing the almighty dollar they overbooked their plane and allocated the spare seat next to children. It seems Virgin has the children’s best interests at heart until money is involved.

So, Virgin Airlines considers all men potential pedophiles

Something to consider, then, perhaps, when deciding which airline to fly with on one’s next trip…

 

10 responses to “Warning, men: pedo-hysteria at Virgin Airlines

  1. okrahead

    August 10, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    If you are in the United States there’s no need to worry about the person next to your child on the airplane; the real concern is the TSA worker who is going to grope your child (including the genital area) and then put your child through a naked-body scanner. Assuming your child makes it past the TSA unmolested he should be able to handle anything on the airplane.

     
  2. Will S.

    August 10, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    True enough.

     
  3. sunshinemary

    August 10, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Guys, you know me well enough to know that I am anti-misandry, right? So, I can speak freely, I hope.

    1. The vast majority of men are not pedophiles.
    The majority of pedophiles are men.

    2. Children on airplanes are annoying. Are you really sure you want to fight for your right to sit next to them? This might be one of the times to sit back and enjoy the discrimination… 😉

     
  4. Will S.

    August 10, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    True enough, Sunshine, but it’s the principle, of course. 🙂

     
  5. Will S.

    March 28, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    Seems now that Virgin Airlines Australia wants men and women to help parent’ other parents’ kids (takes a village, doncha know):

    http://uncouthreflections.com/2014/03/21/crowd-parenting/

     

Leave a Reply

