RSS

Real men eat meat; even ‘progressive’ women agree

14 Dec

Just came across this amusing article from earlier this year.

Though nothing we Patriactionaries didn’t already know, of course.  Meat-eaters ARE more manly, self-evidently.  And desirable women know that; in fact, even silly leftist things know that, too.

A century ago, American humourist Ambrose Bierce noted that:

In India one hundred thousand beef- eating and brandy-and-soda guzzling Britons hold in subjection two hundred and fifty million vegetarian abstainers of the same Aryan race.

Real women eat meat, too, as the girl on the left (taken at a RibFest in my hometown a few years back) knows:

Saucy gals with good taste


Some amusing pro-carnivore articles here and here.

And finally, an amusing British comedy sketch, showing the tables turned, on a vegetarian:

(Though, since when did Brit men become kitchen bitches, doing the cooking and pouring wine for the womenfolk, lounging out in the living room while the menfolk prepare the meal and wait on them?  Alas…)

 
37 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2011 in culture, on the lighter side

 

37 responses to “Real men eat meat; even ‘progressive’ women agree

  1. Carnivore

    December 14, 2011 at 5:12 am

    Well, obviously, I agree.

     
  2. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 7:08 am

    Reckon you would, with a handle like that. 🙂

     
  3. Madbiker

    December 14, 2011 at 8:26 am

    In college, I had a friend who ate a pound of red meat everyday. He said it made him manly, and sexual, and gave him an edge on how to pick and choose fodder for his sex romps. He was from South America, Argentina, I think.

    He was sexy, too. Way out of my league, but I could see why women fell into bed with him at a wink and a nod. Maybe there was something to his theory.

    I also knew a lot of vegetarian/vegan men. They were pasty and thin for the most part, and overly concerned with social justice and feeding others rather than themselves, and mostly not interested in sex (because breeding meant more people to destroy Gaia, etc.).

    Not until a few years ago did I begin to seriously question how diet affected expression of genetic traits or general behaviors. The link to the BritCom (and for whatever reason, I “get” and enjoy British comedy immensely) was a perfect encapsulation of not only veganism but so many other -isms: I accommodated you when you were a guest at my house, why not now accommodate me in your home? Also, the intellectual takedown of pigs as food is perfect.

     
  4. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 9:05 am

    In college, I had a friend who ate a pound of red meat everyday. He said it made him manly, and sexual, and gave him an edge on how to pick and choose fodder for his sex romps. He was from South America, Argentina, I think.

    He was sexy, too. Way out of my league, but I could see why women fell into bed with him at a wink and a nod. Maybe there was something to his theory.

    Interesting. Well, the articles I linked in my post seem to draw a connection between sex appeal and meat. Flesh is flesh, after all… 😉

    I also knew a lot of vegetarian/vegan men. They were pasty and thin for the most part, and overly concerned with social justice and feeding others rather than themselves, and mostly not interested in sex (because breeding meant more people to destroy Gaia, etc.).

    Yeah, and I’ve noticed those same pasty, thin, vegetarian men often feel the need to add at least one more traditionally masculine touch, by adding a beard, so they don’t look completely like non-men. But the effect is pathetic; a beard on a manly man makes sense, though I think clean-shaven also works fine. But a beard on a pasty thin vegan is just trying too hard. “Notice me, women! I not only care about social justice; I’m also a man, see?” 🙂

    The link to the BritCom (and for whatever reason, I “get” and enjoy British comedy immensely) was a perfect encapsulation of not only veganism but so many other -isms: I accommodated you when you were a guest at my house, why not now accommodate me in your home? Also, the intellectual takedown of pigs as food is perfect.

    Oh yeah. Vegetarians are quite selfish that way, in that they get out of accommodating meat-eaters, while they must be accommodated. They remind me of other picky eaters; the type of person you dread taking out for dinner to a restaurant, because they’ll be complaining about everything on the menu, “Oh, I can’t eat this, because tomatoes give me heartburn; I can’t eat that, because beans give me gas…” etc. Really, vegetarianism is just another version of that, all too often, IMO, except they demand to have their special kinds of food added to menus, and society must accommodate them, as a group…

    And yeah, the bit about pigs was priceless; so true…

     
  5. Madbiker

    December 14, 2011 at 9:31 am

    @Will S.: on the beard thing, I never thought of it that way until you mentioned it. But almost every vegetarian guy I knew had a beard, as if to indicate that he still had “the goods” in terms of just enough masculinity to be attractive while still maintaining his femino-vegan stance on life. Ugh.

    Oddly, one of the hardcore, bearded, men-and-women-are-equal guys I knew ended up marrying a woman who got a PhD in mathematics. They moved to Berkeley, and he opened up a very successful consulting business focused on parents who wanted to get their kids into Ivy League schools (he had graduated from Princeton – smart guy, would never take that from him, but definitely married to his prog ideology). I was working at a retail establishment with him when she came in to apply for a job, and it was kismet. What I wondered at the time was: why would a Princeton grad and a NYU grad student work in NJ for minimum wage at an outdoor sporting goods shop? I still don’t know the answer, but I can speculate that each had enough of a safety net in the form of either grants or parental financing that allowed them to take “hey, I’m with you, man!” minimum wage jobs that nevertheless denied their individually privileged lives. Each could have commanded upper 5-fig or 6-fig jobs out of undergrad, but that would have spit in the face of their ideology.

    So, instead of leaving spaces vacant for those capable of taking those jobs and succeeding in them, they took those jobs because they were a badge of status:look at me, I’m educated and wealthy but not afraid to work with the proles! It seems that feminism is not the only scourge upon the world of work and the opportunities it offers men or other-classes people to find a way to make a living while finding stability.

    Wouldn’t it be better overall if we could just accept that not every single one of us is destined for a certain eponymous and historical greatness? Something happened to degrade the mundane tasks and accomplishments that lead to the once-in-a-lifetime moments. We no longer celebrate mothers and fathers, or real work, or achievement on small levels. Everything must be on a grand scale, at all costs, else it is meaningless. And I am saddened by that, more than I was ever impressed by that.

    How do we disabuse our youth of such misguided thoughts, but not kill their aspirations?

     
  6. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 10:19 am

    Feminism goes with liberalism and vegetarianism and all sorts of -isms which SWPLs are fond of, all of which are scourges, indeed.

    Wouldn’t it be better overall if we could just accept that not every single one of us is destined for a certain eponymous and historical greatness? Something happened to degrade the mundane tasks and accomplishments that lead to the once-in-a-lifetime moments. We no longer celebrate mothers and fathers, or real work, or achievement on small levels. Everything must be on a grand scale, at all costs, else it is meaningless. And I am saddened by that, more than I was ever impressed by that.

    How do we disabuse our youth of such misguided thoughts, but not kill their aspirations?

    By discouraging women from making post-secondary education and career the focus of their young adult lives, and by instead encouraging settling down and getting married and raising children. Female hypergamy, which makes women only desire men more successful than themselves, will take care of the rest; all of a sudden, there will be more suitable men available for women who aren’t career-bent. In turn, more mundane occupations for men will be more valued, socially, and we will not see so many people of either sex needing to do everything on a grand scale; the simple life will be more prized.

    The churches can help, by not encouraging women to only prize men who take leadership roles in various church ministries, Bible studies, foreign missions, etc. After all, you can’t have only ‘chiefs’; some people have to be just ‘Indians’. It isn’t the case that the only men suitable for a Christian woman to consider, are ones who have had leadership roles, else only a small subset of the men out there would be worthy of consideration as marriage material. In fact, that’s exactly the problem today, resulting in rotating polyandry, exacerbated by the natural hypergamous instincts of females. That instinct is normal and fine, in and of itself, but combined with feminism and career aspirations, has had disastrous effects on society.

     
  7. Gerry T. Neal

    December 14, 2011 at 10:42 am

    “Too much salad can drive people mad, especially young women” – Auberon Waugh

     
  8. CL

    December 14, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Lentils? Eww..

    On a more serious note, turning men into kitchen bitches is a good way to prevent them from gathering in groups by themselves where they might come up with ideas. Since we know how scary teh menz are with those appendages they have and all (eek!), we have to seek to keep them under control at all times. It’s also great for the Authorities, since there is less chance of rebellion if the men are occupied with women’s work while the women sit around talking nonsense that isn’t threatening to the Authorities. We’re right where “they” want us this way.

     
  9. Ulysses

    December 14, 2011 at 11:31 am

    I actually cook quite frequently, but not because I have to. I’m just good at it and enjoy it. My first child was conceived while I was cooking dinner. Well, during a pause while something cooked unattended. The kitchen was productive that day.

    If you’re displaying skill and not subservience, I recommend cooking for your lady. It can be tingle inducing.

     
  10. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 11:36 am

    @CL: Lentils? Eww..

    I like lentils fine, but usually with pork and onions, over rice. Otherwise, they’re a side, to whatever main meat dish one favours.

    On a more serious note, turning men into kitchen bitches is a good way to prevent them from gathering in groups by themselves where they might come up with ideas. Since we know how scary teh menz are with those appendages they have and all (eek!), we have to seek to keep them under control at all times. It’s also great for the Authorities, since there is less chance of rebellion if the men are occupied with women’s work while the women sit around talking nonsense that isn’t threatening to the Authorities. We’re right where “they” want us this way.

    LOL! But seriously, emasculation is an excellent means of social control, for totalitarians; I’m sure that has played a role in their thinking, in coming up with feminism…

     
  11. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 11:41 am

    @ Ulysses: Yeah, I like cooking, too, and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with men doing so; I was more objecting to the complete role reversal on display there: the one man taking the women’s wine glasses for refills, while the other one cooks… But seriously, if it’s not always as depicted, in a given household, nothing wrong with it, occasionally…

    And yeah, I’ve heard about men cooking being tingle-inducing; a player I used to know taught me how successful it had made him with the women – and he taught me to cook a number of Caribbean dishes. I was unemployed at the time, and we were roommates. We’d shop for groceries; cook, and down a fair bit of Canadian whisky while we did so. All manly good fun. 🙂

     
  12. CL

    December 14, 2011 at 11:43 am

    @ Ulysses

    Definitely, nothing wrong with cooking – notice how almost all the well-known chefs are men. There’s a difference between that and being an all out kitchen bitch. 😉 A man who doesn’t know how to boil an egg is rather a sad specimen. Then of course, there’s barbecuing, which most men enjoy doing, but that usually involves copious amounts of meat (hard to barbecue lentils!)

     
  13. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 11:44 am

    @ Gerry T. Neal: Exactly!

    Welcome to Patriactionary, BTW. 🙂

     
    • Ulysses

      December 14, 2011 at 11:47 am

      There is a definite difference between kitchen bitch and cooking. I don’t fold laundry or anything. I do have to admit I made lentil barley stew when I was especially broke.

       
  14. 7man

    December 14, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Can someone please send me the recipe for boiling an egg in case I want to impress CL will my culinary skills sometime in the future?

     
  15. CL

    December 14, 2011 at 11:54 am

    I’m sort of being a bit silly with the lentil hate, but I just find them kind of like eating sawdust. I had some really spicy ones from a Tamil place that weren’t so bad though.

    LOL 7man, you silly.

     
    • Ulysses

      December 14, 2011 at 11:57 am

      No, lentils are bad, but they’re cheap and hearty if you’re a poor college kid.

       
  16. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Like the yin and yang symbol, in which there’s a bit of the feminine principle in the masculine, and a bit of the masculine principle in the feminine, I think traditionally run households have always had some interpenetration of each spouse into spheres that otherwise are largely the other’s. Men have always liked barbecuing and breakfast cooking, and some dinner meals, while women have generally done the rest; similarly, while cutting the grass, hedge-trimming, snow-shovelling, etc. has largely been the domain of the menfolk, the womenfolk have tended gardens and flowerbeds… Complementarity, I believe, has always had room for this kind of thing. And any parent sometimes has to step into the role of the other parent, if the other one is away or ill, etc.

     
  17. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 11:56 am

    @ CL: That’s just it; lentils are staples of Indian and Caribbean cuisine; they do need spices, though, to make them enjoyable.

     
    • Ulysses

      December 14, 2011 at 12:00 pm

      Will – do you know how to make jerk or patties? If so, I need those recipes.

       
  18. CL

    December 14, 2011 at 11:58 am

    @ Will, agreed, on both your last two comments.

     
  19. Svar

    December 14, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Hahaha! Ambrose Bierce is hilarious.

    I really like meat, myself. I used to eat some sort of red meat and some sort of carbs everyday. Kept me good and healthy. I never got skinny nor did I get fat.

    I’m really starting to miss meat…. Especially when it’s rare.

     
  20. Svar

    December 14, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    “Can someone please send me the recipe for boiling an egg in case I want to impress CL will my culinary skills sometime in the future?”

    Yeah, I don’t know how to boil eggs either. No prob, though, I don’t like boiled eggs. I like them sunny side up so that’s why I have my mom cook them for me. Other than that I only know how to make scrambled eggs and omelets.

     
  21. Carnivore

    December 14, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    http://mantestedrecipes.com/

    Go to it men. That home page makes my mouth water.

     
  22. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    Ulysses, those things are more Jamaican; I’m (and the guy I mentioned) am of Trinidadian background, never made beef patties or jerk chicken, sorry.

     
  23. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    As far as vegetarian food goes, I actually like the ethnic stuff; spicy lentils, chick peas, tofu, etc. The only vegetarian foods I don’t like, are Western ones, which are usually imitation this and that – imitation hot dogs, imitation vegan cheesecake, etc.

     
  24. Master Po

    December 14, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Vegetarianism, especially when it allows, as it usually does, for fish and seafood, can be perfectly rational, even if rather divorced from our genetic heritage. Brahmins in India have been able to survive thus for millenia, tho’ to be fair they weren’t the caste that did the (literal) heavy lifting. Veganism, the avoidance of all animal products whatsoever, is complete and willful insanity.

    It is not for nothing, however, that diets low in protein and high in (gack) soy were invented by Bhuddist monks: it made their vows of celibacy and non-violence more achievable. Oh you retarded vegans.

    Take it from a man who has 8, if you wanna make babies, you wanna eat some meat… (and then commence to makin’ the babies, heh).

     
  25. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    🙂

     
  26. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    I think it would indeed be very interesting, if someone attempted a study of meat-eating and civilizational accomplishments, cultural stagnation, etc. Bierce was hinting at such a thing, in his statement that I quoted (though he was also including alcohol, quite rightly). A few years back, a writer named Tom Standage did a study of the impact of six different beverages on world history; see here. I read it; I thought it was brilliant. Someone needs to do the same thing for food – meat, chocolate, tomatoes, corn… And tobacco, marijuana, opium, and the like.

     
  27. Laceagate

    December 14, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    You have to wonder about men who are vegan “body builders.” I found out that a lot of those guys have to drink some sort of weird concoction of supplements and meal replacement protein. Why would you want to drink stuff that tastes worse than lentils, rather than just stick your canines into some juicy meat? I was always under the impression that in order to build muscle, you had to eat muscle. Eating meat is way more enjoyable than drinking sawdust. I say that as a former (coughs) vegetarian (coughs).

     
  28. Master Po

    December 14, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Oh you retarded vegans.

    Actually that isn’t quite fair… to retarded people.

     
  29. Will S.

    December 14, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    @ Lacey: Yeah, I don’t trust them. I’d love to hear what Keoni Galt thinks of them; I know he’s a paleo fan, and not particularly fond of vegetarianism proponents, with good reason; he’s shown how agribusiness has been behind the various health food fads promoting carbs, and decrying meat, etc.

    @ MP: Ha! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

