RSS

Her Majesty’s Diamond Jubilee

02 Jun

Today, is of course, the 60th anniversary of the ascension of Queen Elizabeth II to the throne.

I marked the occasion over at Happolati’s Miscellany, with some links: a post about British Diamond Jubilee kitsch; and two posts about Canada’s, esp. English Canada’s, enduring support for the monarchy, here and here.

Of course, I don’t think she’s perfect; indeed, to be fair, I recently linked two interesting posts, including one by a Brit, over at VDARE, which are critical of Her Majesty, here and here.  I think the criticisms are fair enough; one does wonder why the British monarchy hasn’t used the power still at its disposal to stop many various destructive laws from being enacted, and why they couldn’t accept the government of Rhodesia, esp. after its proposed power-sharing compromises – better, surely, a state in which a minority can vote, than a ‘one-party’ state or dictatorship, in which no-one can vote.

But, be that as it may, she is still Britain’s, Canada’s, Australia’s, New Zealand’s, and others’ Queen, ruling by God’s grace.

Long therefore may she continue to reign.

*Update: Neil Young and Crazy Horse have covered the Royal Anthem, ‘God Save the Queen’, on their new album ‘Americana’, oddly enough (though they mix it with ‘My Country, ‘Tis of Thee’, perhaps due to Young’s living in the States, though he was born and raised here in Canada; perhaps also of course because the album is all covers of traditional American folk songs).  Thought I’d add it to this post. :)

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2012 in Canada, music

 

13 responses to “Her Majesty’s Diamond Jubilee

  1. Mark Slater

    June 2, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    “…the Monarchy is an ideal fig leaf for the coalition of corporate interests and cultural leftists and unaccountable bureaucracies that is our present ruling class. The motto for Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee was “Sixty Years a Queen.” The motto now might as well be “Sixty Years a Rubber Stamp.” If, during the six decades of her reign, England has been transformed from a great and powerful nation and the classic home of civil liberty into a sinister laughing stock, the ultimate responsibility for all that has gone wrong lies with Elizabeth II.” — Sean Gabb

    I respectfully disagree, Will S. The house of Windsor (Hannover) has become ossified at best, and likely subversive to English liberties. As vile as Elizabeth II is, her sons — son Charles and Grandson William — are probably more enthusiastic about ushering in the New World order, with themselves in an exalted position, of course.

    Are there any descendants of the Stuarts or Tudors who can wear a crown? Or of William and Mary? Even Cromwell would be preferable, or John Goodman.

    — Mark Slater

     
  2. Will S.

    June 2, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    Sadly, Mark, I agree with much of your sentiment, that we don’t have any heroic monarchy as we did in days of old. Gabb’s criticisms are generally on the mark. Would that we could have a modern-day Elizabeth I, or indeed, as you mention, William and Mary… Another Glorious Revolution, like the kind that installed William of Orange, along with a ruler as good as William and Mary were together, would be great…

    I wish we did have such; I wish even Prince Harry could take the throne, as notwithstanding his youthful errors, his unabashed political incorrectness would be refreshing, and he might be more willing than either his father or brother to not toe the politically correct lines… I don’t want to see ill befall Prince Charles or Prince William, of course…

    But, as a patriotic Canadian of traditionalist bent, I am a monarchist, regardless of the failings of whoever occupies the throne…

    So, God Save the Queen!

     
  3. Jennifer

    June 2, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    God bless her Majesty! Very nice post.

     
  4. Will S.

    June 2, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    Thanks Jennifer!

     
  5. Will S.

    June 2, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    I’ve updated the post, with an interesting cover of ‘God Save The Queen’ and ‘My Country, ‘Tis of Thee’, by Neil Young.

     
  6. electricangel1978

    June 2, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Harry isn’t Charles’ son: that’s why he’d make an ideal King. When I saw the picture of William holding hands with Kate, with her hand in the superior position, I knew the monarchy was screwed.

    OTOH, I went to a show called “Rembrandt’s Women” in London once at the Royal Hall, or some such place. One picture was noted as “on loan from HRH the Queen.” That was the only point at which I wished I were a royal!

     
  7. Will S.

    June 2, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    @ EA: “Harry isn’t Charles’ son”

    You believe those rumours? I dunno.

    I do agree, though, that Harry is more manly and dominant, than William is. That’s why I like him better, and think he’d be better king material.

     
  8. infowarrior1

    June 3, 2012 at 6:39 am

    The only Heroic and honourable monarch in Anglo history is Alfred the Great. Otherwise I would only want God himself or a Ruler like King David as my Monarch. However the Saxe-Coburg-Gotha family that the queen hails from and presumably the Queen herself ain’t so rosy. A little research will shed light on that fact.

     
  9. David Collard

    June 3, 2012 at 7:16 am

    I was pleased to see our ex-PM, John Howard, received the Order of Merit.

     
  10. Will S.

    June 3, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Did he now? That’s great!

     
  11. David Collard

    June 3, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    He will be thrilled at the huge honour.

    The young queen was quite pretty, not unlike my wife when young strangely. My mother once said she had very good legs, the queen I mean. When they used to come to Oz, crowds were not closely controlled. I was once feet from Prince Charles, with nothing to stop me doing anything, should I have been so minded.

     
  12. David Collard

    June 3, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Her choice of the very manly, indeed chauvinistic, Philip, makes me suspect she is a real woman too. I respect her and wish her well. I think the boys in the family have stupidly married women who are too independent, and it has been nothing but trouble.

     
  13. Will S.

    June 3, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    @ DC: She was pretty, indeed. And chose well in Prince Philip, IMO.

    Alas, their sons have indeed made poor choices, and it has been most unfortunate, agreed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers