RSS

Father Knows Best: Homage to Eisenstein Edition

09 May

Ten Links that Shook the Heavens
(and made one Electric Angel change his mind)

Weekly linkfests offer an opportunity to survey the latest thinking; more often than not, they invite the reader to new discoveries. Learning is the most quintessentially human fact of existence, but I think it is less important than another event: conversion, the voice crying out on the road to Damascus. What things have caused us to change the way we think? I offer ten links that changed my opinion, not an easy thing to do to a New Yorker, born as we are with a lifetime supply of opinions.

http://www.theburningplatform.com/?p=10391
The link that finally convinced me that The Fourth Turning was not just another Boomer-navel-gazing slam-the-Xers tract, as excerpts from Doug Casey had led me to believe, but a great tool to use to analyze the current society. Quinn is a classic Nomad, and his politics are not lock-step predictable.

http://www.sobran.com/columns/2002/021001.shtml
This was the first article that put animal rights in Catholic terms, by the great Catholic polemicist Joe Sobran. I changed the way I ate after this, for this simple reason: forcing pigs and animals to violate their God-given natures in factory farms is as odious an insult to God as forcing women into cube farms for status-whoring purposes.

http://www.sobran.com/columns/1999-2001/000926.shtml
This one article flipped me from being a death-penalty supporter to an opponent. Vengeance is mine, saith the Lord. Sobran puts it this way:

“My own view is that, other things being equal, a murderer richly deserves to die. But you can say that and still believe that the state shouldn’t execute him. The state has amply proved, over the centuries (and especially the twentieth century), that it can’t be trusted with life-and-death power over anyone. It can’t be trusted with other powers either: the power to draft soldiers, the power to tax, the power to control the currency. It has abused every power ever entrusted to it, and some of the men whose faces adorn our money deserved the gallows.

The modern state is itself a criminal enterprise. And though the death penalty is intrinsically just and does deter, we don’t want justice enforced by criminals.”

http://www.ewtn.com/library/HOMELIBR/HERESY4.TXT This was an unbelievably revealing article to me. The whole book is worth reading, if for nothing else than a writer of history with the balls to not use a single footnote. But it puts the rise of Islam into context, and foreshadows the return of Islam in the later era. If you want to really understand HOW Islam rose, and why a weakened West has the same preconditions today that made it susceptible then, you must read this.

I have long held that the most true statement about religion in the USA is this: The most religious country on Earth is India; the least, Sweden. The USA is a country of Indians, ruled by Swedes.” I bought into Islamophobia, until Peter Kreeft’s article on culture war gave me this perspective: “Who is our enemy?…Not Protestants. (left that in for Will S.!) …Not Muslims, who are often more loyal to their half-Christ than we are to our whole Christ, who often live more godly lives following their fallible scriptures and their fallible prophet than we do following our infallible scriptures and our infallible prophet.”

Kreeft goes on to argue that Demons are the enemy, but I use a different term: Swedes, especially the ones who rule us.

This article is probably the most important one I read in my life, in terms of re-orienting me from a life a vapid materialism back to the intellectual world for which I was made. If ever you have grumbled privately about people saying “God is dead,” then you need to read this brief overview of Nietzsche: Sorry, but your soul just died. (A shout out to readers here: I do not have the link that helped turn me into a Patriactionary. It was a description of an early-90s thesis, whose gist is this: religions that will do well in the future are those that demand very little, and so get a broad but shallow flock, and those that are ridiculously demanding, and so use the human tendency to keep investing after sunk costs. The article specifically predicated that the Catholic Church would be in trouble, being neither liberal nor strict enough; fortunately, Pope Benedict has addressed this by taking a rightward turn)

The most important link to me personally was this one, by Jeffrey Tucker. I remember back in the 90s when someone tried to get me to listen to Mahler’s Second Symphony. As I had not yet fully digested Wagner at that time, I did not care for it; I discarded Mahler and any idea of listening to him. Tucker convinced me to take another look, and it has made all the difference in my life since then; I have commented that I have no idea how I made it past age 40 without Mahler. See this link for a superb rendition of the Fourth Symphony’s last movement, Das Himmlische Leben (the heavenly life), sung by that most sweetly evanescent of voices, the boy soprano. As it is currently spring, nothing could be more refreshing than Frühlingsmorgen, (Spring Morning), which might be the best musical two minutes you will spend in your life.

Should child labor be illegal? Obviously; I never questioned this. Until Jeffrey Tucker, that is. Child labor laws helped undermine the economic value of children, and create the divorce nightmare we know today. (One bonus Tucker link: why a Catholic church should NEVER fly a government flag.)

I first discovered the Manosphere through an accidental link at TakiMag in 2009. I read everything I could, but eventually decided that this thing called game was an amusing trifle for lotharios, but of no use to me. And then I found “Relationship Game Week: A Reader’s Journey.” This is the most important article ever written in the gamesphere, as it made it clear that game is essential to all aspects of a life well lived. If you’ve never read it, go. Oh, and then read Dave’s more comprehensive follow-up, Avoiding the fate of the AMC.

Lastly, there is this article that changed my thinking about the nature of Web 2.0, and the freedom revolution as what some call the Internet Reformation spreads. If you want to know why TV is doomed, and we are building the world of the future here, read this.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2012 in Linklove

 

22 responses to “Father Knows Best: Homage to Eisenstein Edition

  1. Will S.

    May 9, 2012 at 12:52 am

    Great linkfest, EA.

    The first Sobran piece reminds me of an anti-veal essay I once read, possibly by Peter Singer, that influenced me enough that I didn’t eat veal for many years. (Rightly or wrongly, though, it didn’t last: one day, as a guest at a dinner where veal was served, I partook, and overcame my resistance to it, henceforth, because it just tasted so darn good…)

    The Belloc essay is thought-provoking, and very original in its thinking, to regard Islam as a Catholic heresy, more or less. I had more or less conceived of it as a blend of Nestorianism with bits of Judaism and pre-Islamic Arabian paganism mixed in, for good measure; Belloc makes a good case that while it is all that, it’s also very much like a heresy, except different from others in terms of its independent origins. Interesting.

    Always liked Peter Kreeft, esp. his “Darkness at Noon” essay; I like this one, too; I agree completely.

    That child labour essay is interesting, and thought-provoking; I’m inclined to agree, at least as regards web design and other such work…

    I, too, found Roissy’s summary of Keoni’s thoughts excellent, and bookmarked it, back in the day.

     
  2. Will S.

    May 9, 2012 at 1:09 am

    And I have much sympathy for Sobran’s take on the death penalty: I certainly support it, in principle, but I, too, have misgivings about placing that power in the hands of the modern, corrupt State…

     
  3. Prinz Eugen

    May 9, 2012 at 2:54 am

    Sobran is okay I despise Tucker though. Tucker is a probable sodomite.

     
  4. zorroprimo

    May 9, 2012 at 4:51 am

    Would that be Sergei Eisenstein?
    [EA The very same. The left has used traditionalist money and courtesy against the Patriarchal society, and I see no problem in appropriating their symbols for our cause.]

     
  5. Carnivore

    May 9, 2012 at 8:29 am

    Of course, I’d have to comment on a ‘meat’ article. Sobran is absolutely correct. Grass fed beef, pastured pork and chicken, wild caught fish are the way to go.

    Mahler? Late Romantic and later not my cup of tea.

     
  6. buckyinky

    May 9, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    The Sobran article on pork production is humbling to read, and devastating to anyone in our society who considers himself pure. What is a person to do who understands such things and wants to reject them entirely? Go vegan? But even the dominion man exerts over food-plants these days is inhumane. The best we can do is to throw a few pebbles here and there into the machinery of the System with the aim of drawing attention to the monstrosity; but then also keep ourselves from being uppity, with the constant knowledge that we suckle from the same System to survive.

     
  7. electricangel1978

    May 9, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    @Will

    Veal? You mean Little Tortured Baby Cows? Did you have to take direct cow blood by IV to recover?

    I guess the point being, real, milk-fed veal is delicious. But the pale flesh of the milk-fed calf can also be obtained by caging veal calves up so that they cannot move, and keeping them anemic (sorry, I know you’re Canadian: anaemic). When we act as directed in Genesis as proper stewards of creation, we can enjoy veal; when we contort ourselves to economize and obey the master of this world, we ought not.

    Others have made the point that Mohammed conquered those Christian areas where Arianism was the predominant form of belief. It’s not much further to Islam from Arianism. I will at some point write a “game in history” series, with Justinian being THE prime example of why it is absolutely wrong to “man up and marry those sluts.” He might be the worst leader in Christendom, given his effects on weakening the Eastern Empire, and his opening all of North Africa and Persia to Islamic conquest.

    Oh, and I need to write an apology post to both you and Dalrock about a previous comment about heresy. Once you understand Belloc’s point of view on heresy, that it is a “taking away” from Catholic doctrine (which is what the verb in Greek means), you can understand why one can state it. Sadly, the King of Spain no longer controls the state where Dalrock lives; happily, the Spanish Inquisition won’t be visiting him or anyone else any time soon.

    As to the death penalty, we will have one in Patriarchistan, but we will have it because we will live justly, and govern justly. With so much of the corruption of the state removed, I do not doubt that there will be much less need to apply it.

    And thanks for the Kreeft link; I had read it, but never bookmarked it. Adding it to Evernote.

     
  8. electricangel1978

    May 9, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    @Prinz Eugen,

    I did meet the man, and cannot confirm or deny your supposition. He would not call to mind Harrison Ford, true.

    One problem with the sodomite mentality is how they have it pervade all of their existence. I don’t let Michelangelo’s sins keep me from enjoying this, but it does explain why his painted women look like this. But then, Michelangelo wasn’t “gay” or even “homosexual,” in the modern sense of those words. He was a sinner, and knew it: see his self-portrait as the skin of St. Bartholemew. In short: even sinners and sodomites can represent and speak truth.

     
  9. electricangel1978

    May 9, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    @Carnivore,

    I included this link for two reasons. One, I did change my eating habits after reading it, to seek out the kinds of quality meats you have mentioned. The second is part of our mission to witness to the wider world. There are plenty of irreligious or atheist animal-rights people out there who have nevertheless grasped a bit of the natural law that God wrote on all our hearts. Having done so, we can show them the larger picture of Truth, and they can connect the dots. How anyone could be pro-animal-rights and pro-abortion is incomprehensible to me.

    As to Mahler, the Fourth Symphony might just be the piece of music that every convert to Christianity needs to hear. (Or Catholicism.) There is a passable translation of the fourth movement here. Click the link in the OP to hear the boy sing the movement, and read the words as he does so in the background. You will not be sorry, late Romantic or no.

     
  10. electricangel1978

    May 9, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    @Buckyinky,

    We always said grace growing up for our food. I imagine this must have been something like what American Indians did in apologizing to the spirit of the animals that they killed to eat. There are producers who sell non-commodified food; I would strongly urge you to read this article, which interviews a self-described “Christian-conservative-libertarian-environmentalist-lunatic.” It should help you to find a path where your eating, like everything else you do, reflects the glory of God’s creation, and your place within it.

     
  11. electricangel1978

    June 7, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    @Will,

    Das habe ich nicht gesehen. I think I’ll have Foie Gras at lunch tomorrow. Especially because the young man I’m meeting is dating a young woman who used to work at a duck rescue shelter. Maybe I’ll make him have some, too!

     
  12. Will S.

    June 7, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Yes, you could force-feed it to them – till their livers explode, har har! ;)

     
  13. electricangel1978

    June 7, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    I do love the irony of that thought!

    ________________________________

     
  14. Will S.

    June 7, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    Figured you might. ;)

     
  15. David Collard

    June 8, 2012 at 2:14 am

    The Donatists weakened the African church before the Arians, and then Islam arrived. I found this article which seems relevant (starts at page 17):

    http://oriensjournal.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/Oriens-Vol10-1F.pdf

     
  16. electricangel1978

    June 10, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    @DC,

    Thanks for a fascinating link. Much like reading the words of Timothy, the Nestorian Patriarch of Babylon in about the year 800.

    I have a theory that I might get to write about. Perhaps a series: game in history. The biggest MANGINA in history, with the worst effect for Christians, HAD to be the Emperor Justinian. Completely RULED by his wife, who was a whore and a child-murderer, according to Procopius (in my favorite scene from all of ancient literature, she is seen in a public marketplace with a man servicing each major orifice, requesting God to make her nipples larger so as to service more). Justinian went a-conquering, destroying the surplus piled up in the treasury by his predecessor, in an obscure quest to bring Persia, Mesopotamia, North Africa, and Italy to heel. I think it was to prove his manhood, or something; he certainly left no children by the older woman he married.

     
  17. David Collard

    June 11, 2012 at 1:15 am

    electricangel, I am glad you liked it. I am not big on history, but church history and intellectual history tend to get me interested. Have you read Belisarius by Robert Graves? I think he married a whore. Graves himself, despite being a brave man, was something of a mangina, with all his White Goddess stuff. Who was Justinian’s wife? I suppose being emperor would allow you to live exactly the sexual life you wanted. Maybe he had a cuckold fetish, or that other thing where men like to display their wives naked …

    Thanks for the Words of Timothy thing. I have saved it to read.

     
  18. electricangel1978

    June 12, 2012 at 10:49 pm

    @Will,

    I fed the young man I had lunch with some foie gras on Friday. I loved telling his GF that he had eaten and enjoyed duckmeat, as she used to rescue the animals (and talked about how ducks have personalities. Sadly, many of the noble pigs that I have eaten do, too. Maybe I should only eat clams?). He told her it was delicious.

    No force-feeding needed.

     
  19. Will S.

    June 12, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    Excellent!

    Somehow, I figured you’d be against foie gras, due to the animal suffering involved, given your feelings about modern agricultural practices and factory farms in general…

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 279 other followers