RSS

Ricky Ricardo, master of relationship game

03 Apr

One of the things about game is the mind-opening possibilities that the choice offers. I confess to being amused when first stumbling on the ‘sphere back in 09. There was now a whole body of research and field reports on the mastery of picking up and (cover your eyes, blushing brides!) bangin’ hordes of young, no-longer-nubile (if the Social Pathologist is to be believed) women. This being an activity not of interest to me, it appeared to be a passing amusement, like one might spend a day reading randomly on Wikipedia.

Then I stumbled on the single most important post ever made in the whole ‘sphere, Relationship Game: A Reader’s Journey. (I’m not going to link it, because you ALL had better have it bookmarked.) I know that this saved at least one life of a person I sent it to, and it should be required reading of EVERY married man. I went along the path, finding Dave in Hawaii, with his explanation of the terminology of “the red pill.”

The red pill doesn’t just help with relationships, however, or helping to see how to avoid bad ones. As Carnivore wrote, a knowledge of game is essential to understanding many classic operas. I had my own moment watching Rigoletto. Scales dropped from my eyes, and I could understand ALL the coded messages that were in that piece. (An earlier understanding of that piece is similar to the views of the writer of this piece.) The Duke, a carefree Alpha, gets away with crap no one else can; the denuded betas can complain, but cannot act as he does. Learning the theory of game gave me a visit to a brand new opera that night, and it has continued.

But game is like the secret decoder ring to just about ANY artwork from before the triumph of Cultural Marxism in the 60s. Consider I love Lucy. (Question: does Lucy love me? Ah, there’s the rub.) I NEVER found it funny, NEVER. As I explained to an older Boomer friend years ago, Lucy’s antics are not funny to a Gen-Xer like me. Dysfunction and disorder were the norm to my generation, and recall that comedy is a tragedy that happens to SOMEONE ELSE. I never laughed at ditzy, dysfunctional stuff because I grew up in a society that had lost its freaking mind (now, having read the Fourth Turning [see Grerp's excellent overview], I understand that underprotecting children like those of my generation is NECESSARY to spawn a generation of cynical, disaffected middle-aged people with no love or loyalty to the society that did not protect them so that they will make the hard decisions necessary in a crisis to build a better world for the next generation) Dysfunction, I told him, was only funny to the Boomers of the 50s who grew up in a relatively normal, stable society. (One tidbit from the Fourth Turning: the Boom was the only time in history when college-educated women had more children than lesser-educated women.)

Now I know that I had only part of the story when I talked to him. This past weekend, I chanced to have the idiot box on (and television use is DYING among the young; read this excellent article to understand why) while working on my laptop, and I Love Lucy went on in the background. Too lazy to mute it, Ricky and family came through my bubble into my brain. And I laughed. Oh, my, did I laugh. Because now I understood.

The societal dysfunction under which I grew up was based in Cultural Marxism, one aspect of which is Feminism. And Feminism was adamant about coverig up sex differences, putting forward strong women and cutting men down to size, leading to an excess of moxie and entitled princesses. So men of my generation were indoctrinated, not educated; if we chanced to grow up under a beta, we never had the calm, confident masculine leadership to show us NOT to take women’s histrionics seriously, to show us how to bat aside their, uh, fitness tests. (In this regard, recall that Feminism is women’s greatest fitness test.) The indoctrination was so severe that I realize now that I never liked Ricky, as I thought he was pushing around Lucy, bossing her, acting like the evil patriarch of feminist legend.

But watch, ye whose stomach lining is crimson from pill coverings. You’ll see a master of frame control. In the three episodes that I chanced to see Sunday, Ricky NEVER ONCE bent to her frame, but always calmly, dominantly, had her submit to his (and this does not mean he was an ass: when he went too far, he did, as HL recommends, make a sincere apology. But he never subjugated himself to her.) He laughingly dismisses her like a little kid, but she does not complain: she loves every minute of it. He teases her constantly, but lovingly. His mastery of Spanish and English gives him a leg up on her: he is contantly her superior. He is, in the immortal words of Athol, always the captain, and she the first mate.

It is like watching my friend, the pre-Castro Cuban, as he flirts, asserts, and woos EVERYONE (including me) in the restaurant when we have lunch. You cannot help but smile, and want to emulate, for you recognize that you are in the presence of a master. So, too, with Ricky Ricardo. If you never liked him before the Red Pill, take another look.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

14 responses to “Ricky Ricardo, master of relationship game

  1. Will S.

    April 3, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    Interesting, ElectricAngel. I confess I too, have never really cared for I Love Lucy, the odd time I’ve stumbled across it, but I haven’t stumbled across it in some years (I pretty much quit watching TV in late 2004, apart from the odd time since then in bars, hotel rooms, at others’ houses), before taking the Red Pill; I will have to get my hands on some episodes and see if I have a similar experience to you, seeing it with new eyes.

     
  2. Svar

    April 4, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Interesting post, EA. I came across the Manosphere the same year you did.

    My mom used to be a huge fan of I Love Lucy.

     
  3. Cranberry

    April 4, 2012 at 6:27 am

    I was a big fan of I Love Lucy. It was one of the shows, along with The Honeymooners, Star Trek, and Little House on the Prairie I used to watch with my mom when I was younger (I know, disconnect, yeah?). I found Lucy funny, but mostly because she was such a fool of a woman all the time. She did things in her home and kitchen that I knew were silly, even at an age as young as 6 or 7. My mom was not like her, even though Mom had her own foibles and silly moments, so comparing Lucy to my mom and the other capable women in my family made Lucy all the more funny to me.

    See, to a woman, Lucy is an exaggeration of all the pitfalls we can fall into by thinking we know all about a man’s world and how to live in it. If you notice a general theme in all of the episodes, it’s Lucy trying to outwit or best her husband by either intruding in his space or showing him up when he tells her how to run the house, and it always bites her in the end, with the resolution of each story being her back in her appropriate place and Ricky back in his as master of the domain. Sometimes her bumbling helps him, showing a complementary nature and that neither Ricky nor Lucy is always right. One of the more touching episodes that did not feature this theme was the one where she tells Ricky she is pregnant – he’s been so busy at work that she places herself in his audience and gives an anonymous request for a special song as a way to tell her husband she’s having a baby – as he moves about the room asking each woman “is it you?” “how about you?” he comes upon Lucy, who nods with teary eyes and it dawns on Ricky that he is the lucky dad. It wasn’t all bad and had some touching moments of true love between a man and wife and a man and his family. If anything, it is a comical morality play about the roles of man and wife in a home, set in a time when women were feeling the coming empowerment which needed to be curtailed.

    As to how the manosphere helps, I stumbled upon it just last year after a few months of reading HL’s blog, which was linked from MDA’s “Paleo Baby” link-love. HL’s blogroll is full of some of the most illuminating stuff in the manosphere and political blogging sphere, and I check it daily to see what’s new. What followed was a journey into my own head, full and honest for probably the first time, to finally deprogram myself and realize what a woman could, should, and ought to be.

    See, I was a bit ashamed for awhile at my lack of progress beyond a bachelor’s degree (when my SIL’s, sister, and other family members all have Master’s and advanced careers) and my choice, made mutually with my husband, to live a simpler life in order to properly raise our kids. It helped me have the confidence I needed to pursue the old-fashioned, sorta homeschooling, non-materialistic life we have. It brought me back to practicing religion, to tempering my attitude, and learning how to let go of silly little stuff that would otherwise break any relationship down. My brother privately admitted to me that while he is proud of his wife’s educational and career accomplishments, he would love to have her stay home with the kids; alas, they have a huge house with a huge mortgage and expensive expectations for their life and their kids’ lives that require two six-figure incomes. Us, not so much. But degrees and careers are another less tangible but still present form of materialism, and since I’ve eschewed annual Disney vacations, dinners out, and a new wardrobe each year (to name a few things) I realize I don’t need the degrees or career anyway – indeed, I don’t even want them. So, the manosphere can help women, too, if they are ready for and receptive to the message. I suspect high-speed culture fatigue might go a long way in helping the receptiveness of many women to this way of thinking.

     
  4. Elspeth

    April 4, 2012 at 7:09 am

    I have a 16-year-old daughter who loves watching episodes of I Love Lucy.

     
  5. Svar

    April 4, 2012 at 10:03 am

    Interesting, Cranberry. The Manosphere, when I first came across it, launched me into a sort of nihilistic conservative. You know a sort of “Enjoy the Decline”, “Calvacare le Tigre” type of thing. I will say the best site in the Manosphere was Seasons of Tumult and Discord which perfectly outlined the Death of the West and the solutions that the two authors, Alkibiades and Tallyrand, prescribed were basically Roissyian: do what you want because nothing matters anymore.

    However, after a while I started coming across the Christian sites in the Manosphere and more importantly I came across Bruce Charlton’s site and I began to see the reason behind the faith. Also, I came across Alte’s old site(Traditional Catholicism).

     
  6. electricangel1978

    April 4, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    @Will,

    If you do do any watching and catch a relevant clip, please post it here. (That goes as well for you, Cranberry.) I would like to embed a few YouTube links illustrating what I saw; I will do that as a follow-up post in a few days.

    @Svar,

    It’s been the most intellectually stimulating years of my life. Do you have any archive of STD? I loved that blog, and then it was just GONE, like Solomon II. Thankfully, Dalrock saved that for us forever.

    @Elspeth,
    Your daughter loves it because she lives it, I’ll wager. It would not be funny in a non-patriarchal family. Good on you!

    @Cranberry,
    You honor me with your deeply-thought comment. I would save it and expand it if I were you into a longer post on your blog.

    Your comments about advanced education recall a discussion I had yesterday with a young woman. She is pretty, trilingual, smart (was valedictorian, and in a STEM field), sexy, and has absolutely no confidence in herself. She was asking if she should just go to grad school, rather than try to find a job. I called two employers on her behalf, urging her to get out into the workforce. I strongly suspect she is a virgin, and will say what would really give her what she needs: a strong, loving husband under whose shelter she could grow. But I cannot advise that directly.

    To quote the old knight from Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade: “You chose… wisely.”

     
  7. Svar

    April 4, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    EA, I wish I did. I think Ulysses did at some point but lost it; I did ask him before. I also asked Will but he doesn’t have it. I think Ferd might have a copy; if you manage to get it from him, do tell me and send me a copy.

     
  8. Will S.

    April 4, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    @ EA: If I do, I’ll certainly share it.

    Svar’s right; alas, I don’t have the STD archive. Too bad; that was a good blog. It annoys me when, for no good reason, people pull their blogs. I can understand if there’s a compelling reason (like someone uncovering their identity and threatening / blackmailing them), but absent that, I don’t get it, and I hate it.

     
  9. Jennifer

    April 7, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    I saw Ricky as having a lot of bluster when he got bossy; Lucy seemed to find him endearing, before going on and doing her own thing.

     
  10. Svar

    April 7, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    Jen, you think alot of things.

     
  11. Will S.

    April 8, 2012 at 12:00 am

    And then other things, she doesn’t think; just reacts…

     
  12. Svar

    April 8, 2012 at 12:22 am

    Either way she comes to the wrong conclusion.

     
  13. Will S.

    April 8, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Exactly, that’s usually the case. :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 279 other followers